Ssingo Ousts Busiro as Buddu Receives Home Shocker

Ssingo team lining up for a team photo in Mityana

Sunday, August 13

Ssingo 2-1 Busiro

Buddu 0-1 Gomba

The 2017 Buganda Masaza Cup will reach a climax on August 26 as Ssingo and Gomba take center stage in Namboole in a repeat of the 2014 finals.

Allan Kabonge’s Ssingo who had won their first leg 1-0 on the road, reached this fate with a 2-1 victory against Busiro in Mityana to pick a 3-1 aggregate victory.

Stephen ‘Dube’ Ssebuufu’s header gave Ssingo a halftime lead before Jude Ssemugabi doubled the score with 20 minutes still on the clock.

Hamza Kalibwami brought one back for the visitors.

In Masaka, Allan Sserunga shocked the defending Champions Buddu with a 55th minute strike to help 3 time champions Gomba win 1-0 in 90 minutes to tie it one all on aggregate.

Adadi Mutumba was one of the Buddu players who missed their spotkicks as Gomba won 4-3 on penalties to march on to the finals.

Past Masaza cup winners

2004 – Gomba

2005 – Mawokota

2006 – Kooki

2007 – Mawokota

2008 – Kyadondo

2009 – Gomba

2010 – Not Held

2011 – Buluri

2012 – Buleemezi

2013 – Mawokota

2014 – Gomba

2015 – Ssingo

2016 – Buddu


Header advertisement
To Top