NRM District Primaries Postponed

Candidates Denis Nkwasibwe and Pamela Kihumuro at one of the campaign rallies

National Resistance Movement has postponed its primary elections for woman MP and LC5 elections   in the   five newly created districts.

NRM was set to hold its primaries on Monday 21st August   2017 in the districts of Rukiga, Namisindwa Pakwach, Butebo, Kyotera and Bunyangabu.

Dr. Tanga Odoi the NRM chairman of the party’s electoral commission says that they elections have been postponed by a day, to Tuesday 22 August 2017, after the logistics including ballot papers arrived late.

David Bahati, the NRM chairman for the districts of Kabale, Rukiga and Rubanda called upon party members to be peaceful throughout the voting process, noting that it doesn’t need not to divide the party members.

Campaigns that begun on 10th august 2017 closed on Saturday 19th in Kamwezi sub county.

This is the second time that the polls are postponed as at fist the elections were supposed to be held on 29th July 2017.

Six women are batting for the District woman Member of Parliament, namely, Victoria Abigail Atukunda, Maureen Kyarisiima, Pamela Kyomugisha Kihumuro and Charity Twongeirwe Ainebyoona, Alice Basobokwe and Caroline Kamusiime Muhwezi.

Three are battling for the LC5 seat and they are,  Denis Willy Nkwasibwe, Dr. Alexander Kampikaho and Jackson Asiimwe Rwamwehare.


Header advertisement
To Top