Museveni Attends Kagame Inauguration in Kigali

President Kagame taking oath of office at Amahoro stadium

President Yoweri Museveni is in the Rwandan Capital Kigali to attend the inaugural ceremony of President- elect Paul Kagama as he swears in for his third term in office.

President Museveni was received at the Kigali international Airport by the Foreign Affairs Minister Hon. Sam Kahamba Kuteesa, the Acting Ugandan High Commissioner to Rwanda Ann Katusiime, Brig Nyamunyanisa, among others.

Rwanda held presidential elections on August 4th 2017 that saw the incumbent President Paul Kagame sweeping the polls to secure an overwhelming 7-year, third term in office.


Museveni, who is also the Chairperson of the East African Community joined other Heads of State and dignitaries from the continent and around the world attending the ceremony at Amahoro National Stadium in Kigali.

The Ugandan President, according to those in attendance, received the loudest applause upon arrival at the stadium.


President-elect Paul Kagame polled 98.7% of the vote against main opposition party leader Frank Habineza and independent candidate Philippe Mpayimana.

According to the Rwandan Constitution, the President-elect takes oath of office within thirty days after the final results of the election have been officially released.

The inauguration was attended by thousands of Rwandans in Kigali

The inauguration was attended by thousands of Rwandans in Kigali

Several heads of states and governments have already arrived for the ceremony including newly elected President of Kenya, Uhuru Kenyata, President of South Sudan Salva Kiir, that of Namibia Hage Geingob, President of Gabon Ali Bongo Ondimba, Acting President of the federal Republic of Nigeria, President of the Republic of Niger, Faustin Archange Touadera of the Central African Republic, Brahim Ghali of the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic, Ismail Omar Guelleh of Djibouti, Mahamadou Issoufou of Niger, Djibouti President Ismail Omar Guelleh, President of Niger, President Edgar Lungu of Zambia, Macky Sall of Senegal, Sasou Nguesso of the Republic of Congo and Hage Gottfried Geingob of Namibia. Others include the Chairperson of the African Union Commission, Moussa Faki Mahamat and former Botswana President Festus Mogae, former Tanzania President Benjamin Mkapa.



Header advertisement
To Top