Mumbere Moves to Re-Institutionalize Rwenzururu Kingdom, Appoints Mini Cabinet

Mumbere is not allowed to step foot in Rwenzori region. (Photo by: Kenneth Kazibwe)

Rwenzururu King, ampoule Omusinga Charles Wesley Mumbere has Sunday evening restructured and made new appointments in the Kingdom’s cabinet in a bid to revitalize the Operations of the institution.

Business in Rwenzururu Kingdom has been on a standstill since the November 2016 bloody clashes between security forces and Kingdom Royal guards (Kirumira Mutima) that left hundreds dead.

The clashes also led to the arrest of Omusinga Mumbere, order his Prime Minister Johnson Thembo Kitsumbire and a number of Kingdom officials, sale all of whom were charged with among others, treason, terrorism, murder and aggravated robbery.

Header advertisement

Mumbere and his Prime Minister would later be released on bail although denied a chance to step foot in Rwenzori region. Their movements are only restricted to the districts of Kampala, Wakiso and Jinja.

According to a statement which ChimpReports has seen, Mumbere has appointed a four-member Prime Ministerial Commission to run the office of the Prime Minister.

The Prime Minister is the administrative head of a cultural institution.

Among the members on the commission is Rt. Hon. Mbayahi Gad, the Commission Chairman, Rt. Hon. Edwin Kugonza, the Commission Vice Chairman, Rt. Hon. Baluku Stanley Kanzenze, the Commission secretary and Rt. Hon. Misairi Mukwenda, a Commission member.

Mumbere also made transfers and appointed a team of 11 Ministers and two deputy Ministers from the previously very big cabinet who will run the Kingdom alongside the House of Representatives.

An 8-member Privy Council Team was also appointed and according to the statement, will work alongside the mandatory Royal family members who are automatically on this committee.

The statement further asserts that; “the OBR Thuhimbe Development Board which was commissioned on 19th October 2016 will continue its operations and will be reporting to the Prime Ministerial commission.”


Prime Ministerial Commission

Rt. Hon. Mbayahi Gad – Commission Chairman

Rt. Hon. Edwin Kugonza – Commission Vice Chairman

Rt. Hon. Baluku Stanley Kanzenze – Commission secretary

Rt. Hon. Misairi Mukwenda – Commission member


Hon. Alfred K Makasi -Minister for Justice, Constitutional Affairs & Attorney General of OBR

Hon. Clarence Bwambale Mumbahya – Minister of Information, Public Relations & Spokesperson

Hon. Milton Kalyata – Minister of Finance, Planning & Economic Development

Hon. Sarah Ithungu Baleke – Deputy Minister of Finance, Planning & Economic Development

Hon. Yokasi Bihandi Bwambale – Minister for Land and Production

Hon. Florence Kabugho – Minister for Royal Protocol & Palace Affairs

Hon. Amos Mugisa – Minister for Security and Royal Transport.

Hon. Moses Kibalirwandi – Minister for Education & Sports

Hon. Eri Nyakango – Minister for Culture, Tourism & Native Administration

Hon. Lucy Biira Kabanyoro – Minister for Gender, Youth & Community Development.

Hon. Naume Mbambu – Deputy Minister of Gender, Youth & Community Development

Hon. Eng. Wilfred Matsande – Minister of Works & Construction.

Hon. Mathina Bwambale – Minister of Regional Affairs & External Relations.

House of Representatives

Rt. Hon Enock Muhindo – Speaker

Dr. John Baluku – Deputy Speaker

Mr. Joram Kisembo – Clerk

Privy Council Team

Rt. Hon. Costa Bwambale

Dr. Walemba Nathaniel Mumbere

Dr.  Maate Rogers

Dr. Arthur Syahuka Muhindo

Rt. Hon. Loice Biira Bwambale

Rt. Hon. Yeremia Mutooro

Hon. Aprunali Kithende Kalibogha

Hon.  Yohosephat Kuule School Band


Header advertisement
To Top