Miya Survives Brussels Airport Blasts; Cranes Boosted

The Uganda Cranes team preparing to clash with Burkina Faso have been boosted by the arrival of two crucial foreign based attackers; Farouk Miya and Emmanuel Okwi. The two play for Standard Liege and SønderjyskE in Belgium and Denmark respectively.

“Miya (Farouk) and (Emmanuel) Okwi landed at Entebbe early today (Tuesday) morning and will link up with the team in camp, price ” Fufa spokesman Ahmed Hussein revealed to Chimp Sport.

“The rest of the foreign based pros will be in the country by 10:30 Pm. We expect St. George’s duo of Isaac Isinde and Robert Odonkara around 1pm today, Keeper Denis Onyango at 10pm together with Mike Azira.”

Farouk Miya’s safe arrival comes as a relief to the football fraternity after news came in shortly later that Zaventem airport in Brussels in Belgium where he departed had been blasted by suspected terrorists.

The blasts
Two blasts tore through the Departures area of country’s biggest airport shortly after 07:00 GMT (9AM Ugandan time).

At 10AM another explosion hit Maalbeek metro station, close to the EU institutions. The metro system and airport have both been closed.

About 13 people have been reported dead and more than 30 injured in the attack.

Cranes training
The Cranes enter the fifth day of training with most of the players summoned already in residential camp at Sky hotel in Naalya.

Some of the stars in camp include skipper Geoffrey Massa, Yasser Mugerwa, Salim Jamal, Tony Mawejje William Oloya and Hamid Kizza.

The Cranes are slated to fly to Ouagadougou on Thursday for the match day 3 fixtures on Saturday 26 and return by Monday evening aboard Ethiopian airlines.

The team is expected to resume training on Wednesday at 5pm at the Mandela national stadium in Namboole.

Players who trained on Tuesday
James Alitho (GK), Salim Jamal Magoola (GK), Joseph Nsubuga, Bernard Muwanga, Joseph Ochaya, Erisa Sekisambu, Denis Okot, Edrisa Lubega, Denis Iguma, Godfrey Walusimbi ,Hassan Wasswa Mawanda, Khalid Aucho, Tonny Mawejje, Moses Oloya, Yassar Mugerwa, Geofrey Massa, Murshid Juuko, Hamis ‘Diego’ Kizza, Mike Serumaga, Isaac Muleme, Ceasar Okhuti and Timothy Awanyi



Header advertisement
To Top