Fufa Women’s Cup: Olila Win Inaugural Fufa Women’s Cup

Olila are the champions of the inaugural Women's cup.

Fufa Women’s Cup 2017
Gafford Ladies 1(1)-1(3) Olila HS

Olila High School Women Football club are the champions of the inaugural Fufa Women’s Cup after edging past Gafford Ladies.

In a thrilling game played at the Madibira Primary school playground, Busia on Sunday, Olila High school needed goalkeeper Karungi Vanessa’s mastery in the penalties to win the title.

Normal time had ended in a one all stalemate but goalkeeper Karungi saved a penalty in the tense shootout to help Olila win 3-1.

Olila started the game the better side dominating possession and searching for early goal

As early as the 2nd minute, Magdalene Illamai tested goalkeeper Elsie Najjemba with a thunderbolt outside the area but she was able to contain.

A minute later, lanky forward Sharon Alupo had a chance to head home but she missed the target with the ball going just wide.

Gafford Ladies however were able to contain the early pressure and calmed their nerves to start marching Olila’s pace.

They even went ahead to break the deadlock with defender Evelyn Kakayi heading home in the 36th minute.

A free kick from Gertrude Karungi was brushed by Sandra Nantumbwe and Kakayi headed past onrushing goalkeeper Vanessa Karungi who had moved off her line.The Kanyanya based side took the lead at halftime.

However, Olia High returned recharged after recess searching for a quick goal. The coach was prompted to make a change and introduced Siporosa for Sharon Achieng who was ineffective in the first half.

Olila won a penalty in the 54th minute when Fazirah Ikwaput was brought down inside the box by goalkeeper Elsie Najjemba and centre referee Anna Akoyi did no mistake to point to the centre.

Midfielder Cissy Nantongo stepped up to convert the resultant penalty sending the goalkeeper the wrong way.

Olila then made several attacks with Ikwaput being unlucky on one of  the  occasions as her effort hit the post.

The game eventually ended in a stalemate and had to be determined on penalties to find the winner.

Olila High School converted all their spot kicks through Cissy Nantumbwe,Alupo Norah and Siporosa while while Sandra Nantumbwe, Annick Sophia and Shakira Mutibwa missed theirs.

Winners Olila were given a cash prize of Shs 3million while Gafford Ladies walked home with Shs 2million.

Gafford Ladies starting XI

Elsie Najjemba, Josephine Nakyewa, Lydia Namutebi, Florence Nakalule, Hajara Nassuna, Gertrude Karungi, Sandra Nantumbwe, Lilian Veronica, Shakira Mutibwa, Monica Namwase

Olila High starting XI

Vanessa Edith Karungi, Gillian Akandida, Marion Amangat, Ariong Eunice, Wilmer Nantumbwe, Illamai Magdalene, Sharon Achieng, Cissy Nantongo, Fazirah Ikwaput, Ritah Nabossa

Individual Awards

Most Valuable player- Nabossa Ritah (Olila)

Top scorer- Fazilah Ikwaput (Olila)

Best Goalkeeper- Vanessa Karungi (Olila)

Best Coach – Saddam Cifu Mpande (Olila)

Fair Play Award-Taggy High School

Best Journalist Online- Fred Mwambu (Futaa)

Best Journalist Radio- Solomon Ssaka (Innerman FM)

Best Journalist Print -Markhtum Muziranza (Daily Monitor)


Header advertisement
To Top