FDC Lines Up Candidates for New Districts

FDC Electoral Commissioner, Husein Lubega

Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) has finalized the process of selecting candidates that will contest for the gazatted elective positions in the newly created districts and municipalities.

The 9th Parliament in 2016 created 5 new districts and 6 Municipalities that became effective on July 1, 2017. The districts are Rukiga, Pakwach, Namisindwa, Bunyangabo and Kyotera.

The municipalities which were prescribed as constituencies by parliament are: Nebbi, Ibanda, Sheema, APac, Njeru and Kotido.

The National Electoral Commission (EC) last week released a roadmap to have the district representatives elected.

Voting will be on Members of Parliament, District Chairpersons and Local Government Councilors where applicable.

FDC Electoral Commissioner, Husein Lubega on Monday told Chimpreports that the party has all candidates and are ready to take part in the races.

“As FDC Electoral Commission, we have already organized our candidates for the newly created districts and Municipalities. We have candidates ready to contest and we are currently printing posters for them,” Lubega said.

He added that as has been the party practice to pay nomination fees for all its candidates, money has already been set aside for this.

Asked to avail the names of the candidates for the different positions, Lubega said the results of the primaries are yet to arrive at the party headquarters since most of the elections were carried out over the weekend.

Lubega also revealed that the party successfully conducted meetings to fill the vacant party structures in different districts.

FDC Deputy Spokesperson Paul Mwiru however, revealed that they faced resistance over the weekend in Kibuku District where their meeting was interrupted by the Residential District Commission (RDC), Margret Wazitonyi “who ignorantly demanded for clearance from her even after we were cleared by Police.”


Header advertisement
To Top