Cranes Fail First Hurdle in Ouagadougou


Uganda Cranes bad luck of not winning their  third qualifier games has persisted after  succumbing  to a Jonathan Patroipa  second half penalty in a  match played on Saturday 26 at the Stade Du 4 Aout in Ouagadougou.

The Al Nasri player sent Onyango the opposite side after Khalid Aucho’s contested foul inside the box that earned the Ugandan player a yellow card.

Close Scare

Préjuce Nakoulma who plies his trade at Turkish club Mersin Idmanyurdu had another opportunity to double the lead in the 64th minute but Cranes custodian Onyango was in the right place to push the effort out for a corner.

The forward had beaten the whole Cranes defense to the ball in a quick executed counter attack.

The hosts didn’t play well the entire game however a had a few chances at the end of the  game only to be wasted.

First Half Action

The hosts controlled much of the opening quarter but their production in the last third was not efficient with Aristide Vance and Chelsea forward Bertrand Traore wasting their chances.

The Cranes had a chance to assume the lead in the 16th minute after team skipper Geoffrey Massa set up Portugal based winger William Luwagga Kizito in the 12 yard area but the receiver’s first touch was inches further than the expected, sale failing with just the keeper to beat.

Geoffrey Massa nearly amended the miss minutes later by converting Joseph Ochaya’s cross from a free-kick in the upper left wing but unfortunately the goal was flagged off for an offside.

Chippa United lanky forward Aristide Bance missed a glorious opportunity to send the ball home in the 28th minute after failing to get at the end of Jonathan Patroipa’s rebound free-kick that hit the wood work.

The Cranes however still lead the group D  log with 6 points the same as Burkina Faso and both teams having a similar goal difference after 3 games so far played.

The two sides will meet again on Tuesday in Kampala in match -day 4 clash.

The winner of the group will automatically qualify for the 2017 AFCON finals to be played in Gabon next year.


Dennis Onyango, Dennis Iguma, viagra Isaac Isinde, Murshid Juuko, Joseph Ochaya, Tony Mawejje, Khalid Aucho (70′ Hamis Kizza), William Luwagga Kizito, Godfrey Walusimbi (Emmanuel Okwi), Farouk Miya, Geoffrey Massa

Header advertisement


Most Popular

Header advertisement
To Top