Makerere: Barya’s Petition Thrown Out; Sentamu, Nawangwe Selected For VC geneva; font-size: small;”>According to the Chairperson of the University Council, site Eng. Dr. Charles Wana Etyem, physician the University Council received and considered the appeal from the Ag. Vice Chancellor of Makerere University, Prof. Venansius Baryamureeba, which was discussed and disposed off.

This is a blow to Baryamureeba’s hopes of retaining the highly coveted job.

Subsequently, the University Council considered the report of the University Senate on the search process for the Vice Chancellor of Makerere University.

With reference to the Report from the University Senate, three candidates, Associate Professor Barnabas Nawangwe, Professor John Ddumba Sentamu and Professor Edward K. Kirumira were recommended to the University Council for further consideration.

According to the Chairperson of Council, Eng. Dr. Charles Wana Etyem, 19 members attended the Council meeting held today Wednesday.

18 members voted and one member abstained.

On the first round of voting, Prof. John Ddumba Sentamu emerged the best with 14 votes. Associate Professor Barnabas Nawangwe tied with Professor Edward Kirumira each scoring 11 votes.

The University Council then held a second round of voting to break the tie between Associate Professor Barnabas Nawangwe and Professor Edward K. Kirumira.

In the second round of voting, Associate Professor Barnabas Nawangwe scored 10 votes and Professor Edward K. Kirumira scored 8 votes.

“Subsequently, the Makerere University Council has recommended two candidates namely Professor John Ddumba Sentamu and Associate Professor Barnabas Nawangwe to the Chancellor for further consideration in accordance with section 31(2),” said Makerere publicist Ritah Namisango.

Namisango further stated that Section 31 (2) of the Universities and other Tertiary Institutions Act 2001 stipulates that the Vice Chancellor shall be appointed by the Chancellor on the recommendation of the University Council from among the three candidates recommended by the Senate.

The institution’s Vice Chancellor shall be named by the Chancellor Prof. Mondo Kagonyera.


Header advertisement
To Top