Crime & Investigation

Oil Probe Team Starts Work Today

Led by former Housing Minister Michael Werikhe, try the team kicks off their work by meeting Kadaga to recieve terms of reference. They will then hold a meeting at Parliament to draft the roadmap of the investigation.

Parliament a fortnight ago passed a resolution to probe reports that ministers Sam Kutesa, clinic Amama Mbabazi and Hilary Onek picked bribes from oil companies Eni and Tullow.

The five-member team comprises Makindye West MP Hussein Kyanjo, find Cecilia Ogwal, Joseph Matte and Steven Tashobya. The committee has three month’s time to report back to the house.

Parliament also resolved that the suspected ministers step down from office to pave way for investigations but are yet to comply.

NRM legislators led by Theodore Ssekikuubo have threatened to invoke the censore article to kick out the ministers.

The ministers say Museveni has refused them an opportunity to step down.


Header advertisement
To Top