Election 2016

Yoweri Museveni Wins Uganda Presidential Election

At least two ministers and three incumbent Members of Parliament from Kigezi region have been trounced in the just concluded general elections.

Information Minister Rtd Major General Jim Muhwezi Katugugu lost Rujumbura County seat in Rukungiri district to Fred Turyamuhweza of the Forum of Democratic Change.

Turyamuhweza polled 16, website http://deltadiner.com/wp-content/plugins/woocommerce/includes/emails/class-wc-email-customer-completed-order.php 859 votes against the Muhwezi’s 14, page 587 votes while Julius Muhurizi trailed with 2, check 758 votes.

At a press conference on Saturday, Muhwezi conceded defeat but cited several irregularities in the election.

He promised to continue serving the NRM and wished his rival the best in Parliament.

Economic Monitoring Minister Henry Banyenzaki was defeated by Eng Denis Sabiti of NRM.

Banyenzaki polled 18,775 while Eng Sabiiti was far ahead with 24,106 votes.

Joseph Ruhangariyo of FDC got 380 votes while Isa Muhumuza of the Democratic Party managed 134 votes with Biho Twesigye trailing with 124 votes.

Kabale Woman MP Rita Rona Ninsiima was trailing Catherine Atwakire Ndamira.

Jack Sabiti lost Rukiga County MP seat to Herbert Kabafunzaki of the NRM.

Kabafunzaki polled 21,510 votes while Sabiiti managed only 14,986 votes.

However, several incumbent members of Parliament managed to retain their seat.

They include Wilfred Niwagaba kept a tight grip on Ndorwa County East with 19,009 votes after defeating NRM’s Grace Bekunda who obtained only 13,731.

Andrew Baryayanga Aja retained Kabale Municipality seat after defeating Dr Francis Mwesigye Runumi, the former Commissioner of Planning in the Ministry of Health.

State Minister of Planning David Bahati won Ndorwa West County for the third time with a landslide. He obtained 23,838 votes against his rival Simon Agaba’s 7,878 while Harold Turinawe Bamwoya of the Go-Forward got only 3,903 votes.

Henry Musasizi of the NRM won the Rubanda East seat after trouncing seven of his opponents including the Former State Minister of Local Government Godfrey Ahabwe Pereza who came second with 4,075 votes compared to Musasizi’s 18765 votes.

In Rukungiri district, all the incumbents won the elections save for Minister Jim Muhwezi.

In Rubabo County the incumbent Mary Paula Turyahikayo was re-elected after poling 18,829 vote against his close challenger David Ndindirize who got 14, 374 votes.

In Rukungiri Municipality, FDC’s Roland Kaginda Mugume was re-elected after defeating Dr Eric Rutahigwa of NRM.

Winfred Matsiko reclaimed the Rukungiri woman MP seat after defeating FDCs Betty Muzanira with 58,994 as Muzanira got 54,966 votes.


Matsiko lost the seat five years ago to Prisca Ssezi Mbaguta.

Kisoro district has new faces in Parliament such as Rose Kabagyenyi for Bufumbira South Woman MP after defeating Juliet Musanase.

Former State Minister of Labour Sam Bitangaro bounced back as MP after being out of Parliament for ten years.

Kisoro Town Council Mayor Sam Byeisho defeated Paul Bucyana, the son of Agriculture Minister Tressy Bucyanayandi to take the newly created Kisoro municipality.

In Bufumbira North John Kamara retained the seat after flooring his opponents Andrew Mugisha and Joseph Byamugisha.

In Kanungu district the State Minister of Health Dr Chris Baryomunsi won Kinkiizi East with 14,129 votes.

James Rwiigi Kaberuka of NRM won Kinkiizi West County which was represented by John Patrick Amama Mbabazi.
President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni has been handed yet another presidential term in office by Ugandans, approved http://chicken33.com/commande/wp-content/plugins/woocommerce/includes/wc-update-functions.php in an election described by observers as the most competitive ever.

Museveni was declared Saturday evening, http://cyancdesign.com/wp-includes/class-wp-feed-cache.php the winner of last Thursday’s presidential elections, trouncing seven contestants two of who have previously challenged him more than twice.

Eng. Badru Kiggundu announced the results as follows:

Abed Bwanika: 86075 (0.93%)

Amama Mbabazi 132,574 (1.43%)

Benon Biraaro 25675 (0.27%)

Joseph Mabirizi : 23762 (0.26%)

Kizza Besigye: 3, 270, 290 (35.7%)

Maureen Kyalya: 40598 (0.44%)

Venansius Baryamureeba 51086 (0.55%)

Yoweri Museveni 5617503 (60.75%)

The total number of valid votes cast was 9,246,563 votes while voter turn up stood at 63.5%.

While announcing the results, the commended the Electoral Commission team for successfully bringing to the close the three roadmap of the election.

Commenting on the glitches that hampered the Thursday voting process, majorly the delays in delivering polling materials, Kiggundu stressed that no country in the world, has ever delivered an entirely free and fair election.

The declaration was made amidst contestation from majorly the opposition party Forum for Democratic Change which claims vote rigging.

The FDC candidate, Col Dr Kizza Besigye who has been held and released by police thrice this week, was at the time of the announcement under house arrest at his home in Kasangati.

Besigye was arrested yesterday from his party offices in Najjanankumbi, together with other FDC leaders and detained briefly at Nagalama police station.

He was accused of trying to declare his own results, against the Presidential Elections Act Section 57.

Election observers from around the Eastern Central African region have declared the general elections as free and fair, despite cases of violence and delays by the electoral commission to provide voting materials on time.

Yufnalis Okubo who led the IGAD Observers said that the Thursday election exercise was commendable by world standards.

The dissatisfied opposition were also advised to peacefully seek redress in courts of law if have grounds to.

“In our opinion, the 2016 general election met the minimum international standards of a free and fair election. We urged the people of the Republic of Uganda to remain calm as the process of tallying the final vote is still underway,” said Okubo.

“In the event that there is reason to challenge the election results, we urge everyone to resort to the provided legal channels,” he added.

The 72-year-old incumbent president will be pushing his leadership to 35 years.

Museveni has dubbed two of his previous terms as his last ones, only to come back for more.

While his opponents accuse him of imposing himself on the country which he liberated from high handed past regimes, Museveni says he only follows the will of Ugandans who keep voting for him.

At a recent presidential candidates’ debate in Kampala, he lambasted those who accuse him of being undemocratic, stressing that democracy is not just about practices but numbers.

Museveni also says many of his goals have not been achieved yet.

“I am not power-hungry but mission-hungry,” he told press during the course his campaigns last year.


Header advertisement
To Top