Vipers are the 2016 Uganda Cup Champions

Vipers Sports club have claimed their first ever Uganda Cup title following a 3-1 win over Onduparaka Fc in a thrilling final played in front of a fully packed Nakivubo stadium on Saturday.

Pius Wangi scored twice to add on Erisa Sekisambu’s while Gaddafi Wahab curled in a first half freekick to give the vibrant travelling fans a reason to celebrate.

The West Nilers survived a motor accident en route to the match venue after a Toyota premio car rammed into the bus they were travelling in.

First half.

Vipers pulled the first shot of the game inside the opening minute but Dan Bilikwalira’s goal bound shot was intercepted by Rashid Toha with a long clearance.

The caterpillars pulled a quick attack through Simba to Caesar Olega who set up Shabaan for the skipper to race inside the box but his shot was disappointing.

Sekisambu opened the game in the 13th minute after pouncing on a loose ball from Toha’s failed clearance. The striker sent in from a tight angle past Nation.

Pius Wangi doubled the score at the half hour mark tapping a cross that originated from a good run down the right wing by captain Wadada.

Gadaffi Wahab pulled the only goal for the Caterpillars with a beautifully curved freekick from over 30 yards towards the end of the first period.

Gadaffi Wahab celebrates Onduparaka's goal.

Gadaffi Wahab celebrates Onduparaka’s goal.

Wangi sealed the game with his second of the day in the 62nd minute with a rebounding bouncing ball. Nation had punched away Khalega’s cross aimed at Sekisambu, clinic

Vipers will now represent Uganda in the 2017 Caf confederations cup.

Champions – Vipers SC

Runners up- Onduparaka

MVP- Erisa Sekisambu

Top scorer- Shaban Muhammad

Best Goalkeeper- Isma Watenga

Best Coach- George ‘Best’ Nsiimbe

Onduparaka fans at Nakivubo

Onduparaka fans at Nakivubo

Line Ups:


Isma Watenga, Nicholas Wadada, Dan Balikwalira, Shafik Bakaki, Halid Lwaliwa, Siraji Sentamu, Deus Bukenya, Keziron Kizito, Pius Wangi, Mike Mutyaba, Erisa Sekisambu

Subs: James Alitho, Aggrey Madoi, Saddam Juma, Hassan Kalega, William Wadri, Joseph Semujju, Alfred Leku


Alionzi Nafian, Muhammad Shaban, Adriko Alex, Andaama Denis, Toha Rashid, Simba Sadir, Ibrahium Faisal, Gadafi Gadinho, Ajobe Toto, Gadafi Wahab, Olega Ceasar Sahan

Subs: Nisar Kassim, Agau Rashid, Anjuvulu Charles, Gibson Johnson, Yamandu Tawakal, Saddam Norman, Matua Nicko Joshua


Header advertisement
To Top