Ugandans In America Get New Leadership

Dr Joseph Buwembo is the new Chairman UNAA board

The Ugandan North American Association [UNAA] yesterday elected Dr. Joseph E. Buwembo and Mr. Edward M. Otto as the Chair and Secretary of the new UNAA Board of Trustees respectively for two year terms effective April 15th 2015.

UNAA is the oldest and largest Ugandan diaspora association, which encourages acquaintance and fellowship among members, creating a platform where they can network,  share, experience and showcase Uganda’s cultural heritage and the opportunities of their new homes on the continent.

Formed back in 1988, the association boasts of more than 3000 members.

In his acceptance speech as its new head, Dr Buwembo resolved to amalgamate UNAA and heal the fractures that have been threatening to incapacitate the organization.

“The biggest challenge UNAA faces at this pivotal time is restoration and promotion of the democratic culture; democracy to me means being able to live and work in harmony with individuals that you have an opposing view on the same subject matter,” he said.

“We shall pay particular attention to member voices, as well as have oversight over the UNAA Executive.  I am eager to commence on the great task ahead of us.”

The seven members appointed by the UNAA Executive Committee went through a vetting and confirmation process by the UNAA Council in fulfillment of Article 5 of the UNAA Constitution and will effective April 8th 2015 serve their three year tenure through 2018 – as the organization celebrates 30 years of its founding in 1988.  Each Trustee is eligible for re-appointment up to two terms.

“The UNAA Council is excited and looks forward to working with these very talented and able individuals who have exhibited such a strong passion for service beyond self.” said Engineer Nicholas Kissesi Wakou, the Speaker of the UNAA Council.

The new members include Dr. Bakama Bakama Nume, an Associate Professor of geography at Prairie View A&M University in Houston, Texas; Dr. Joseph E. Buwembo, (Chairman), Dr. Michael M. Kisembo, and Mr. Martin Musinguzi; a lawyer in North Carolina.

Others are Mr. Edward Nantamu, Edward M. Otto, Esq. (Secretary),   and Ms. Rosette Serwanga,



Header advertisement
To Top