Uganda to Host 2017 Africa Rugby 7s Tournament

Uganda will have the chance to defend the title at home

Uganda has landed the chance to host this year’s Africa Rugby sevens tournament slated to take place between 6th-7th December.

Confederation of African Rugby (CAR) nowadays called Rugby Afrique confirmed the news on Monday indicating Uganda will host the two-day tournament.

Uganda, rx the defending champions will have the chance to defend the title this time at home and rugby fans will have more games to watch this year already with several Africa gold cup games lineup.

To win the coveted title, Uganda defeated Namibia in the finals last year at the Karasani stadium in Nairobi Kenya.

Like the norm, the winners and runners up of the Africa sevens get the chance to play in the Hong Kong 7S qualifiers which is an event on the HSBC World 7s series.

This also gives the winner an invite to play at the Dubai 7s and Cape Town 7s.

10 teams have already confirmed participation and Rugby Afrique will chose the other two to make a total of 12.

These include; hosts and defending champions Uganda, Kenya, Namibia, Madagascar, Zimbabwe, Tunisia, Nigeria, Morocco, Senegal and Botswana.

About the tournament

Africa Rugby 7s started in 2000 and would come after 4 years. However it changed format to an annual contest in 2013.

Kenya are the record champions winning the title on 4 occasions.

Past Winners

200- Zimbabwe





2014-South Africa




Header advertisement
To Top