Uganda, Rwanda to Face Again in U20 Afcon Qualifiers

Uganda U-17 team that lost to Zambia two years ago.

A total of 499 people have Saturday been awarded medals during the 35th Tarehe Sita celebrations at Kololo Independence Grounds for their respective support in the five years struggle that brought the National Resistance Army to victory in 1986.

The Uganda People’s Defense Forces that metamorphosed from the NRA launched the guerilla fight on this day in 1981 in a serious attack on Kabamba barracks when its leader Yoweri Museveni disagreed with the outcome of the 1980 general elections and way the government of that time was operating.

Annually the UPDF commemorates the day in different districts and for this year the main celebration is in Kampala.

Header advertisement

During the Saturday event, ampoule the lucky 499 persons received the medals in four categories according to the 2001 articles of the National Honors and Awards Act.

The names of the awardees were read by the Chairman Medal Awards Committee, viagra sale Gen. Elly Tumwiine who is also the army Member of Parliament.

Tumwiine is the man who fired the fired the known first bullet of the struggle during the Kabamba attack. The NRA intended to loot weapons from the armory.

Tumwiine fired at a soldier at the quarter guard.

Museveni inspecting a guard of honour at Kololo Independence Grounds

Museveni inspecting a guard of honour at Kololo Independence Grounds

The medals were then given to the owners by the Commander-in-Chief, case Museveni.

The first group to be bestowed was the Nalubale medal awardees.

The Nalubale medal is for the civilians who were involved in the struggle mainly through civil support. Many of the recipients read by Gen. Tumwiine were dead.

The second group was the Luwero Triangle medal awardees. The Luwero Triangle medal is for the military officers who directly participated in the struggle.

The third group was the Gold Jubilee medal given to people who offered distinguished service and loyalty since Uganda gained her independence in 1962.

The fourth and last group was for different armed groups including the UPDF, Uganda Police Force and Uganda Prisons Service.

The notable figures who received in the last category were mainly from the Police.

They included the former Inspector General of Police, Benjamin Ochieno, Assistant IGP in charge of Interpol, Asan Kasingye, Police Medical Services boss Dr. Byaruhanga, Commissioner Fred Enanga, Benson Oyo Nyeko among others.

From the Prisons, the Communications Commissioner Frank Baine who also served as the deputy masters of ceremony of the day was among those who were awarded medals.

Gen. Tumwiine congratulated all the awardees and asked them to maintain the spirit of selflessness and hard work.

Museveni laid a wreath on Yusuf Lule and the unknown soldier’s tombs.
Uganda national Under-20 team will take on Rwanda in another underage tournament for a chance to play in the 2017 u-20  African cup of nations that will be held in Zambia.

Basing on the draws that were conducted during the CAF Executive Committee meeting held in Rwanda, visit this The cubs will start their campaign away to Rwanda in the weekend of 1-3 April and the return leg in Kampala around 22-24 April 2016. The aggregate victor from the two leg will face Egypt in the next round of qualifiers with the winner playing the best team among Angola, more about Chad and Gabon.

Seven teams will emerge from the qualifiers to join the hosts Zambia for the final tournament which is scheduled for 26 February to 12 March 2017.

All the semi-finalists at the championship qualify to represent the continent at the U20 FIFA World Cup.

Fufa did not register the U-17 side to the respective qualifier where the final tournament will take place in Madagascar  from 2-16 April 2017.

“Fufa registered only in the Under-20 tournament because most of the boys used in Under-17 have grown past that age and it was thought as a good idea to maintain their continuity. Apart from that the Under 17 team will take part in the CECAFA U-17 championships which will be held in Uganda, rx ” Fufa spokesman Ahmed Hussein revealed to Chimp Sport.

Some of the faces expected in the Under-20 team include US-based former U17 captain Andrew Okiring, Vipers’ Alex Komakech, Frank Tumwebaze ‘Zaga’, Pius Wangi, Alfred Leku, Pius Obuya (Maroons),


Header advertisement
To Top