Uganda Cup: Police FC Ease Past Saints to Reach Round Of 16

Police defeated Saints 4-0 to progress to the next round

Uganda cup round of 32
Police 4-1 The Saints

Police football club put up an incredible performance to progress to the round of 16 outwitting Saints FC 4-1 in the Uganda cup game played at Nakivubo stadium on Tuesday.

An own goal by Saints right back Aggrey Kirya, page a penalty by Hakim Ssenkumba and  a brace from  veteran striker Hood Kaweesa ensured the cops advanced to the next round despite Julius Malingumu pulling one back for the visitors.

Header advertisement

In a game where Abdallah Mubiru’s charges dominated proceedings right from the start, Police suffered an early blow with defender Ibrahim Kibumba limping off in the 10th minute and was replaced by Yasin Mubiru.

Hakim Ssenkuma put Police ahead converting from a penalty after Lauben Kimera had been fouled in the box by Robert Nakyenalire just 18  minutes into the game.

Ssaka Mpiima denied saints the leveler at the 24 minute mark clearing off the line Nakyenalire’s goal bound goal with goalkeeper Yasin Mugabi  already beaten.

Two minutes later, Hood Kaweesa doubled the lead for Police tapping home William Wadri’s low cross from a close range before Aggrey Kirya  directed the ball into his own net for the cops to take a comfortable 3-0 halftime lead.

Kaweesa scored his second on the day and Police’s fourth in the 66th minute with a cool finish off his left foot before Julius Malingumu pulled one back for the Saints four minutes later.

Police now advance to the round of 16 awaiting for the draws on a date yet to be communicated. This year’s final is slated to take place on 27th May in Arua district.

Police starting XI

Yasin Mugabi, Ssaka Mpiima, Brian Ochwo, Ibrahim Kibumba (Yasin Mubiru), Martin Mpuuga, Hakim Ssenkumba, William Wari, Rahmat Ssenfuka (Michael Birungi), Lauben Kimera (Yassin Mugume), Hood Kaweesa, Ben ochen

The Saints starting XI

Ali Kimera, Aggrey Kirya, Augustine Walusimbi, Julius Kisambira, Othieno Joseph (Dennis Ssekitoleko), Robert Nakyenalire (Moses Mulambula), Rogers Aloro, Gerald Bagoole, Ezekiel Katende, Julius Malingumu, Ivan Kiwewa (Abdunoor Lukwata)


Header advertisement
To Top