UFL: Lubega’s Late Strike Hands Bisaso Perfect Start at UMU

Team captains with match officials before kickoff (photo by UFL)

University Football League

Uganda Martyrs University (UMU), order Nkozi became the first team to register a win in this year’s University football league after edging past Mbarara University of Science and Technology (MUST) on Friday.

Reuben Lubega scored a late goal as the Nkozi based University earned a hard-fought 2-1 win over MUST in the game played in Mbarara on Friday.

Header advertisement

Lubega came on as a second half substitute replacing Denis Kasirye and he scored the winner with five minutes left on the clock.

This was Shafik Bisaso’s first game in charge as the head coach of Uganda Martyrs University. The former SC Villa coach joined the 2015 runners up a fortnight ago.

David Owori gave the visitors the lead with five minutes to half time slotting the ball into the top right corner of the goal.

UMU's player tries to go past two MUST players

UMU’s player tries to go past two MUST players

MUST however, levelled matters in the second half through Eric Okello who converted a penalty after Amir Zaake had handled the ball inside the forbidden area.

With the game destined for a stalemate, Reuben Lubega scored in the 85th minute to hand coach Shafik Bisaso a winning start.

Lubega jumped high to head home Mbigo Livingston’s cross from a corner.

The result means UMU top group A with three points with UCU and KIU who drew 1-1 in the first game occupying 2nd and 3rd position respectively while MUST are bottom of the group.

Action continues on Saturday with new entrants Bishop Stuart University hosting Kyambogo University in Mbarara in group B.

MUST starting XI

Peter Kanyesigye, Yuda Wagawekka, Moses Ampurire, Oyoo Patrick, Opwifaya Hegard, Alex Agaba, Dickens Tumwesigye, Lubanga Stephen Felix, Allan Akampurira, Eric Okello, Lule Derrick

UMU starting XI

Julius Ssekyewa Herman, Phillip Kasajja, Godfrey Katumba, Orom Henry, Nasser Lukwago, Antanus Mutaawe, Livingston Mbigo, Amir Zaake, Denis Kasirye, John Tusubira, Douglas Owori


Header advertisement
To Top