The 16 Teams That Qualified To the CAF Champions League Group Stage

The 2017 total CAF Champions league reached the group stage mark after a successful first round held over the weekend.

A total of 16 teams made it to the group stage which has a new format that will have four groups different from the previous format that had only two.

Defending Champions Mamelodi Sundowns edged past KCCA 3-2 on aggregate while last year’s runners up, side effects Zamalek also made it to the group stage.

The biggest shock was Congo’s TP Mazembe failing to past the first round huddle exiting at the hands of CAPS United from Zimbabwe.

Chimpsport’s Joel Muyita indicates how each of the 16 teams qualified.

USM Alger (Algeria)

The Algerian giants eliminated Rail Club du Kadiogo 2-1 on aggregate overturning a 1-0 defeat in the first leg in Burkina Faso to win 2-1 in Algiers.

Al Merrikh (Sudan)

After succumbing to a 3-0 defeat away to Rivers United in Nigeria, diagnosis it seemed done and dusted for Al Merrikh but the Sudanese side put up a resuscitated performance to win 4-0 in Omdurman and advance 4-3 on aggregate.

Etoile du Sahel (Tunisia)

One of the two sides that managed to win home and away at the first round phase. They defeated Ivory Coast’s AS Tanda 5-1 on aggregate winning 3-0 at home before completing the job away with a 2-1 win.

Esperance de Tunisia (Tunisia)

The 3-1 victory in the first leg was enough for Esperance to advance 4-3 on aggregate despite losing the return leg 2-1 against Guinea’s Horoya

Al Ahli Tripoli (Libya)

The away goal in Morocco proved vital as Al Ahli Tripoli eliminated FUS Rabat. Al  Ahli lost 3-1 in the first leg but went ahead to win 2-0 in Tripoli.

Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

Anthony Laffor scored the all important goal as defending champions Sundowns edged past KCCA FC from Uganda.

The African champions won 2-1 in Pretoria but were on the line of exit until Laffor scored with nine minutes for the return leg to end 1-1 and advance 3-2 on aggregate.

Waydad Casablanca (Morocco)

One of the two games that were determined on spot kicks after an identical 1-1 result between Waydad Casablanca and CF Mounana in both legs. The Moroccan side won 5-4 on penalties.

  1. Zanaco(Zambia)

They advanced on away goals rule against Tanzania’s Young Africans. The first leg ended goalless but the two sides played to a 1-1 draw in Tanzania.

Ferroviaro Beira (Mozambique)

After a 2-2 aggregate score, Ferroviaro Beira defeated Liberia’s Berrarah Young Controllers 4-1 on penalties.

Beira had won the first leg 2-0 but Berrarah levelled the score winning the return leg with a similar score.

Zamalek (Egypt)

Last year’s runners up progressed 5-3 on aggregate at the cost of Nigeria’s Enugu Rangers. Zamalek won the first leg 4-1 while Enugu Rangers won 2-1 in the return leg.


A 1-1 draw away to Gambia’s Port Authority in the first  leg made sure AS Vita made the groups stage 3-1 on aggregate after winning the second leg 2-0

Al Ahly (EGYPT)

Record champions(8 times) Al Ahly edged past South Africa’s Bidvest Wits. After a 1-0 win in Cairo, the powerhouse club managed to earn a goalless draw in South Africa.

Cotton Sport (Cameroon)

They eliminated Madagascar’s NAPS united 2-1 on aggregate drawing 1-1 away and winning the first leg 1-0

CAPS UNITED (Zimbabwe)

The only team that played at the preliminary round and have made it to the groups stage.

Central African Pharmaceutical Society (CAPS) united played to a goalless draw at home and advanced at the expense of 2010 winners TP Mazembe following a 1-1 draw in Lubumbashi.

St. George (Ethiopia)

The Ethiopian giants were one of the two teams that won home and away. They defeated Congo’s AC Leopards 0-1 and 2-0 on away and at home respectively to advance 3-0 on aggregate.

Al Hilal (Sudan)

A 3-0 win in the first leg and a 2-2 draw in the return leg ensured the Sudanese side advanced 5-2 on aggregate against AS Port Louis 2000 from Mauritius.

The 16 teams will be pitted into four groups and below is the seeding of the teams ahead of the draw depending on previous performance.

The seeding for Champions league draw


Al Ahly SC [EGY]

Zamalek SC [EGY]

Étoile Sportive du Sahel [TUN]

Mamelodi Sundowns [RSA]


Al Hilal [SUD]

Espérance de Tunis [TUN]

USM Alger [ALG]

Wydad Casablanca [MOR]


Al-Merrikh [SUD]

Coton Sport [CAM]

AS Vita [DRC]

Al-Ahli Tripoli [LBY]


Saint George S.C. [ETH]

Zanaco [ZAM]

Caps United [ZIM]

Clube Ferroviário da Beira [MOZ]


Header advertisement
To Top