South Sudan

South Sudan President Declares 18 New States

South Sudan President Salva Kiir

State Minister of Industry James Shinyabulo Mutende, site 53, generic has died.

It is understood Mutende, who has been the husband of Hon Lydia Wanyoto, passed on Saturday morning.

Family members told ChimpReports that Mutende was found dead in his bed.

“We are still in shock. But we hope to get detailed information about this matter as soon as possible,” said a close relative who preferred anonymity to speak freely.

The cause of the untimely death remains unknown.

Mutende’s demise comes high on the heels of Internal Affairs Minister, Gen Aronda Nyakairima’s death last month.

In a statement, Parliament said Speaker Hon Rebecca Kadaga “regrets to announce the death of Hon. James Mutende.”

The August House said burial arrangements would be communicated later.

“Parliament extends condolences to the family, relatives and the country.”


Mutende, BVM, MBA, PhD, was a Ugandan veterinarian, economist, academic and politician.

He was appointed State Minister for industry on 27 May 2011, replacing Father Simon Lokodo, who was named State Minister for Ethics & Integrity in the Office of the President.

On account of being a cabinet minister, James Mutende was also an ex officio Member of Parliament.

He was born in Mbale, on 26 February 1962.

After attending local schools, he was admitted to Busoga College Mwiri, an all-boys boarding secondary school near Kakira in Jinja District.

He graduated from Mwiri, with the Uganda Certificate of Education in 1980 and with the Uganda Advanced Certificate of Education in 1983.

In 1984 he was admitted to Makerere University to study veterinary medicine, graduating in 1988 with the degree of Bachelor of Veterinary Medicine.

In 1999, he was awarded the degree of Master of Business Administration, also by Makerere University.

Later, in 2005, he received the degree of Doctor of Philosophy in Economics from New School University in New York City.


He began his career as a teaching assistant at Makerere in 1987, during his final undergraduate year, continuing in that role until 1989.

From 1989 until 1994, he worked as a manager of one the branches of then government-owned Uganda Commercial Bank.

From 1988 until 2009, he worked with the Uganda Investment Authority as an Investment Officer.

From 2003 until 2005, he pursued his doctorate in New York, while working part-time as an Assistant Professor of Economics at The New School and concurrently carrying out financial development research at the United Nations offices in New York City.

In May 2011, he was name the State Minister of Industry and Technology.

Other considerations

Dr. Mutende came from a family of distinguished technocrats and politicians.

His father Michael Mutende was the first Ugandan Town Clerk of Mbale Municipality, from 1964 until 1974. His uncle James Francis Wapakhabulo was Uganda’s foreign minister at the time of his death in 2004.

Dr. Mutende, a holder of a PhD in economics, was one of the three most highly educated ministers in Museveni’s current government.
Two consultants in Kigali, viagra 100mg Rwanda have been arrested for manipulating Electronic Billing Machines (EBM) and trying to defraud the tax authority over Rwf384 million.

According to Drocella Mukashyaka, troche Deputy Commissioner in charge of Taxpayer Services at Rwanda Revenue Authority (RRA), discount Noel Nzabonitegyeka and Christella Mutesi were arrested on September 30, 2015, after it was discovered that their fraudulent activities were leading to losses in tax collection.

The duo was arrested by Rwanda National Police (RNP) following an investigation by the Revenue Protection Unit.

The Commanding Officer of Revenue Protection Unit, CSP Jean Nepo Mbonyumuvunyi, revealed that the suspects created a ghost company in order to acquire an electronic billing machine, which they later on misused to create false receipts and invoices.

“They created a company in 2014 that was meant to deal in construction material, but investigations show that they did not sell or a buy a single unit, yet their billing machine indicates that they had amassed taxes,” Mbonyumuvunyi said.

“Through joint investigations, we found that the office did not have a physical address or contacts. We eventually arrested the two and found that they were using the machine with other unscrupulous business people to create false receipts,” he added.

Mukashyaka disclosed that the duo had managed to pocket Rwf120 million in 2014 from RRA through wrongful claims.

She also commended RNP for its partnership in overcoming illegal business activities, and for acting swiftly to apprehend those involved in fraudulent activities.
The South Sudan President Salva Kiir has created additional 18 states to the existing 10 states in the oil rich unstable nation.

Mr. Kiir used his constitutionally-mandated presidential decree on Friday to unveil the new administrative units in what appears a move to decentralise power and boost efficiency.

Kiir’s announcement was broadcast on national broadcaster, visit web SSTV during the evening news hour.

Dr. Riek Machar’s group have for long called for federalism. He signed a peace deal with the government recently which is being implemented.

Kiir was flanked by the Minister of Information and Broadcasting, for sale Michael Makuei who congratulated the president for what he only described as a “bold decision.”

The move is perceived as contravening Article 161 of the Transitional Constitution of South Sudan adopted during independence.

The Transitional Constitution only gives the Council of Ministers chaired by president Kiir powers to change boundaries and capitals of the 10 original states but not authority to create more.

The 28 states and their capitals are:

(a). Greater Equatoria States.

1- Imatong State (Torit)

2- Nyamonong State (Kapota).

3- Maridi State (Maridi).

4- Amadi State (Mundri).

5- Gbudwe State (Yambio).

6- Juba State (Juba).

7- Terekeka State (Terekeka).

8- Yei River State (Yei).

(b). Greater Bhar el Ghazal States

9- Wau State (Wau).

10- Aweil State (Aweil).

11- Lol State (Raja)

12- Aweil East State (Wanjok).

13- Twic State ( Mayen Abun).

14- Gogrial East State (Kuajok).

16- Tonj State (Tonj).

17- Eastern Lake State ( Yirol).

17- Western Lake State (Rumbek).

18- Gok State (Pngeik).

(C). Greater Upper Nile States.

19- Northern Liech State (Bentiu).

20- Southern Liech State (Leer).

21- Ruweng State (Pariang).

22- Eastern Nile State (Malakal)

23- Jonglei State (Bor).

24- Western Nile State (Kodok).

25- Western Bieh State (Ayod)

26- Eastern Bieh State (Akobo)

27- Latjor State (Nasir).

28- Boma State (Pibor)


Header advertisement
To Top