Shaban Muhammad Crowned Airtel-FUFA Male Footballer of the Year

Two years ago, prescription Muhammad Shaban was playing for the U17 national team (cubs) but the metric rise of the teenage striker has seen the sharp shooter take Ugandan football by storm.

The Cinderella story about the rise of Onduparaka football club can’t be mentioned without the name of Mohammad Shaban and the efforts of the teenage striker this year were rewarded as he was crowned Airtel Fufa male footballer of the year.

To the surprise of many that attended the awards gala on Friday at Speke Resort, what is ed Munyonyo including the winner himself and the football fanatics Shaban beat off competition from Dennis Onyango, pills Miya Farouk, Joseph Ochaya and Erisa Ssekisambu to win the award and drive home in a new Alteza car.

In his acknowledgement speech after receiving the crown, Shaban thanked his teammates and the club for helping him attain the glory.

“This is an overwhelming moment for me but all this has been possible because of my teammates and my club Onduparaka that has shaped me to what I am today,” he said.

Muhammad Shaban helped Onduparaka win promotion to the Uganda Premier League scoring 13 goals in the Fufa Big league and also enable the club reach the Uganda cup finals.

Shaban is currently the top scorer in the Uganda Premier League scoring seven goals which has enabled him earn his senior debut on the national team in the friendly against Zambia last month.

In the Fufa female footballer of the year category, Kawempe Muslim sharp shooter Hasifa Nassuna beat off competition from last year’s winner Sandra Nabweteme, Tina Nambirige and teammate Ruth Aturo to win the award.

Full list of winners

Male footballer of the year – Mohammad Shaban

Female footballer of the year – Hasifa Nassuna

Coach of the year – Mike Mutebi (KCCA FC)

Fan’s favourite player (Ugandan) – Miya Farouk

Fan’s favourite player (Other leagues) – Mohammad Salah (AS ROMA)

Fufa Fair play Award – Vipers SC

Fufa Presidential Award – Ali Tomusange

Beach Soccer player of the year – Roch Somoka (Nkumba Select)

Referee of the year – Ivan Kintu Bayige

Fufa XI: Mathias Muwanga, Dennis Okot, Joseph Ochaya, Musa Walangalira, Halid Lwaliwa, Keziron Kizito, Mutyaba Muzamir, Ibrahim Kayiwa, Erisa Ssekisambu, Robert Ssentongo, Mohammad Shaban


Header advertisement
To Top