Salim Uhuru Topples Nyakana to Take Kampala Central NRM Chair

Uhuru addressing the electorate before voting at the NRM Headquaters on Thursday

Kampala businessman Salim Uhuru has emerged with landslide victory as the new Chairman NRM for Kampala Central in elections held Thursday evening.

Uhuru defeated the incumbent seat occupant Godffrey Nyakana. The other contender, this store Mohammed Nsegumire withdrew his candidature at last minute.

Salim Uhuru is politically tested, pharmacy having served for about 10 years as the NRM division chairperson and councilor representing Kisenyi II parish.

Header advertisement

After a day’s dragging process of electing other colleges including the special interest groups, the slot for Chairman was last.

The cheering crowds and the electorate endured from morning the long process and rain disruption until almost midnight.

Finally voting ended at 10pm and Uhuru defeated his contender Godffrey Nyakana with a difference of 77 votes. The vote count announced 99 votes for Uhuru while Nyakana got 22.

The voting exercise was supervised by Jane Alisemera, NRM EC member who’s charged with Kampala. Uhuru was announced as the newly elected Chairman NRM for Kampala Central at around 11pm amidst loud cheering.

In his acceptance speech, Uhuru vowed to ensure unity within the party. “I thank all the voters for the support you have showed me. And I promise to work with Nyakana and everybody else to move the party ahead. There will be no more camps in Kampala Central” he said.

Among issues Uhuru intends to tackle in his term of office is designating an office foe special interest groups. He also pledged to empower structures right from LC1. On his part, Nyakana conceded and congratulated his counterpart in what he reffered to as a ‘historical moment’ for the party.

“Other parties should learn and emulate our internal party democracy. Now that the elections are completed, we should work together. There’s a lot we can do together as a party.”

John Mutenda was elected the Vice Chairman while Kabagehyi Beatrice became Secretary for Finance. Others elected on NRM Kampala Central committee included Kavuma Kasirye for Publicity Secretary, Katawera Eleazer as Secretary General.

In the special interests category, Eva Birungi won Women’s League chair, Zimbe Salim as Secretary for persons with disabiltiy while Mukoza Jimmy became Chairman Elders’ League.

The exercise was conducted in fairness much as the situation pointed to much possibility of voter bribbery in days that preceded the exercise.


Header advertisement
To Top