Rwanda Honours Top Politicians Killed During Genocide

Former Prime Minister, Agathe Uwilingiyimana was killed for rejecting  the genocide plan

The official Kwibuka21 Commemoration Week (7-13 April) comes to a close today Monday with a ceremony at the Rebero Genocide Memorial.

Over 14, no rx 000 victims of the Genocide against the Tutsi are buried there, including 12 politicians who were killed for standing against the genocidal government in 1994.

The official mourning period, known as Icyunamo, continues until 4 July 2014 – Liberation Day.

The politicians buried at Rebero are: Landouard Ndasingwa (Liberal Party), Charles Kayiranga (Liberal Party), Jean de la Croix Rutaremara (Liberal Party), Augustin Rwayitare (Liberal Party), Aloys Niyoyita (Liberal Party), Venantie Kabageni (Liberal Party), Andre Kameya (Liberal Party), Frederic Nzamurambaho (PSD President and Agriculture Minister), Felicien Ngango (PSD), Jean Pierre Mushimiyimana (PSD) and Faustin Rucogoza (MDR).

The former President of the Constitutional Court Joseph Kavaruganda is also buried at the memorial.

Former Prime Minister, Agathe Uwilingiyimana, is buried at the National Heroes Cemetery and will also be honoured today.

This year Rwanda marked the 21st Commemoration of the Genocide against the Tutsi by remembering the lives lost and showing solidarity with survivors and uniting to ensure genocide never happens again – in Rwanda or elsewhere.

Kwibuka means ‘to remember’ in Kinyarwanda, Rwanda’s language.

It describes the annual commemoration of the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi, in which more than one million Rwandans were killed.

Twenty-one years later Rwandans asked the world to unite to remember the lives that were lost and stand against genocide denial and to recognise the incredible bravery of those who rescued others during the genocide – at great risk to themselves and their families.

A series of events took place in Rwanda and around the world including the national commemoration in Rwanda, which begun on 7 April 2015.

The genocide began on 7 April 1994.

Kwibuka21 included a number of commemorative events including the lighting of the Flame of Remembrance at the Kigali Genocide Memorial, as well as commemorative events at the local level.

Meanwhile, special guests at today’s function includes the President of the Rwandan Senate, Bernard Makuza, the Minister of Sports and Culture, Julienne Uwacu, the President of Ibuka, Jean Pierre Dusingizemungu, the Executive Secretary of CNLG, Jean Damascene Bizimana, and the Executive Secretary of the National Forum of Political Organisations. The Dean of the Diplomatic Corps will also attend and lay a wreath.


Header advertisement
To Top