PHOTOS: Vipers Pick First Leg Advantage Over KCCA in Uganda Cup

SC Vipers' players celebrate their second goal.(PHOTOS:Kenneth Kazibwe/Chimpreports)

Lugazi based Vipers SC are on course of winning their maiden Uganda Cup trophy after crushing KCCA FC 2-0 in Nakivubo on Wednesday.

Erisa Sekisambu and Alfred Leku each scored in the respective half to give the visitors a first leg advantage .

Both sides commenced on attacking mode with Okhuti wasting the first open chance seconds after kickoff after getting at the end of a calm mid range pass but failed to perfectly loop over Watenga who was off his territory.

Header advertisement

It was a battle for the fastest at Nakivubo on Wednsday evening

Vipers retaliated with a quick counter attack from the left wing through to Joseph Semujju after the midfielder set up Alfred Leku but also missed a chance to drop the ball behind an advancing KCCA FC shot stopper Benjamin Ochan.

Eight minutes later, medications Muzamir Mutyaba blundered with a blind pass initially intended for captain Joseph Ochaya but Leku intercepted, cheap interchanged upfront before setting up Erisa Sekisambu who rounded up Ochan to put the ball at the back of the net.

The beautiful game brought foes Jennifer Musisi and Erias Lukwago together.

Sekisambu nearly doubled his tally on the 28 minute mark after dribbling past Timothy Awany but his powerful screamer hit the crossbar.

Leku and Ssemujju also had their chances denied to maintain the score- line to the break.

Vipers finished off the game just six minutes into the second period with Leku this time getting it right from captain Nicholas Wadada’s cutting cross from the right.

The return leg will be staged in Buikwe on Sunday where Vipers need to avoid a loss with similar margin while KCCA need atleast 3 goals for a direct chance to advance.

KCCA FC captain Joseph Ochaya could not believe they had lost to Vipers.

The aggregate winner of this tie faces the equivalent in the tie between Entebbe FC and Onduparaka FC.
The overall champion will carry Uganda’s flag in next year’s Caf confederations cup.

Benjamin Ochan, Emmanuel Magembe, Richard Ayiiko, SSaka Mpiima, Timothy Awany, Godfrey Sembatya, Sulaimon Akinyemi, Muzamir Mutyaba, Ceasar Okhuti, Hassan Waswa, Joseph Ochaya.

Emmanuel Opio, Habib Kavuma, Hakim Ssenkumba, Martin Mpuuga, Ronald Kikonyogo, Nelson Senkatuka, Joseph Poloto.

Vipers SC
Watenga Isma,Wadada Nicholas, Dan Birikwalira,Shafik Bakaki,Halid Lwaliwa,Siraj Sentamu, Deus Bukenya, Keziron Kizito,Alfred Leku ,Joseph Semujju,Erisa Sekisambu

James Alitho, Aggrey Madoi, Brian Nkuubi, Saddam Juma,Hassan Kalega,Pius Wangi,Duncan Seninde



Header advertisement
To Top