Onyango, Wokorach Among Winners as USPA Name 2016 Sports’ Finest

Uganda Sports Press Association (USPA) have Monday voted and named the best sports personalities in different sports disciplines for the year 2016.

In monthly meeting convened at Lugogo Tennis Court club, discount sports scribes voted for the best personalities from over 25 categories.

Among the notable winners, this site include Uganda cranes and Mamelodi Sundowns goalkeeper Dennis Masinde Onyango who was named the Male footballer of the year.

Recently crowned the 2016 CAF Footballer of the year based in Africa has now won the USPA gong for the second year running.

The other winners include Rugby ace, Phillip Wokorach who has just sealed a move from Heathens to Kabras Sugar in the Kenyan Rugby league.

David Emong who won a silver medal at the 2016 Paralympic games in Brazil becoming the first Ugandan to win a medal in the history of the games has been named the Best Male Athlete of the year 2016.

The above trio of Dennis Onyango, Phillip Wokorach and David Emong have also been shortlisted for the top crown USPA Sports personality of the year

The Sports team of the year award will be competed for among Uganda cranes, City Oilers (basketball) and Rugby cranes while the best organized sports event of the year will be between the National Pool open championship and Uganda golf Open.

However, the association agreed that sports disciplines that had no events on their calendar or were marred with wrangles be eliminated.

These included cycling, Volleyball and Lawn tennis.

The winners in the different sports disciplines will be awarded at the annual USPA sports gala at a date yet to be communicated.

Golfer Ronald Otile won the Sports personality accolade for 2015.

USPA Sports Personalities Of 2016

Nominees for Sports Personality of the year

Denis Onyango (Football)

David Emong (Paralympics)

Phillip Wokorach (Rugby)

Nominees for Team of the year

Uganda Cranes

Rugby Cranes

City Oilers

Nominees for Sports Event of the year

National Open Pool Championship

Uganda Golf Open

The legendary and best run federation awards are decided by the USPA top executive.

Winners in respective sports disciplines


Male: David Emong

Female: Juliet Chekwel


Shadir Musa


Denis Onyango

Women’s Football

Hasifa Nassuna

Motorsport (Rallying)

The crew of Jas Mangat and Joseph Kamya


Male: Ronald Otile

Female: Flavia Namakula


Male: Henry Ssenyondo

Female: Stephanie Nampina


Male: Sula Matovu

Female: Vicky Namuyanja

Body building

Andrew Ssenoga


Male: Brian Kasirye

Female: Shamim Bangi

Table Tennis

Male: Gilton Chelibe

Female: Halima Nambozo


Male: Onesmus Atamba

Female: Lillian Zawedde


Khalid Batuusa


Male: Phillip Wokorach

Female: Grace Auma


Male: Jimmy Enabu

Female: Judith Nansobya


Aviv Orland


Male: Harold Wanyama

Female: Joyce Kabengano


Joan Nampungu


Male: Jacob Okidi

Female: Dinah Amoding


Patricia Apolot


Sarah Namubiru


Male: Felix Mukunzi

Female:Muhaimuna Namuwaya


Male: Nicholas Malani

Female: Kirabo Namutebi


Male: Innocent Mbabali

Female: Doreen Asiimwe


Ian Rukunya


Header advertisement
To Top