NRM’s Walyomu Retains Kagoma MP Seat

Walyomu has retained his MP seat for Kagoma County

& Ibrahim Shamiru Byakika
The National Resistance Movement’s Moses Walyomu Muwanika on Thursday
trounced three others in the Kagoma county parliamentary seat by-election.
The polling day of the tightly contested race between Walyomu and
Independent candidate Kintu Alex was relatively peaceful from the
beginning of the exercise at 8:00am to the end of the tallying at 10:00pm.
The results declared by the Jinja District Returning Officer, case Rogers
Sserunjogi pronounced Walyomu the winner with 24,257 which is
equivalent of 45.6 percent of the total votes counted and Kintu came
second with 18,490, equivalent of 34.8 percent.
Meanwhile Forum for Democratic Change’s Batuwa Timothy Lusala polled
8,149 which is equivalent of 15.3 percent and another Independent candidate
Bidindole Mohamed Bismark came last with 1,248 of 2.3 percent.
The total votes counted were 53,169, 1,025 invalid votes and 47 ballot papers were spoilt.
The Court of Appeal in Kampala nullified the 18th February victory of Walyomu over electoral malpractice and consequently declared the seat vacant.
Mr. Walyomu won in the 2016 general election with 16,391 votes and was closely followed by his rival Kintu who polled 14,244.


Header advertisement
To Top