NRM to Hold Caucus Executive Committee Elections

National Resistance Movement (NRM) will on Sunday, here July 3 hold elections for the party’s Parliamentary Caucus Executive Committee.

The announcement was made by party Electoral Commission (EC) chairman, dosage Dr. Tanga Odoi while addressing a press conference at the NRM Electoral Commission headquarters in Nakasero.

The 5 member committee is made of; Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, General Secretary, Caucus Treasurer and Publicity Secretary.

“Pursuant to Article 17 (1) of the NRM Parliamentary Caucus Rules of Procedure, the Chief Whip shall be the Chairperson of the Caucus and chair the Executive Committee of the Caucus; the elections shall therefore take place for the rest of the four positions,” Tanga noted.

Tanga said that the NRM EC started receiving expression of interest letters from interested MPs from Yesterday Wednesday June 29 which will go until Thursday, June 30.

Tanga noted that a number of party faithful are approaching the Commission about conducting elections for leaders in the party’s structures.

“Throughout the country, there are gaps in the party structures that have been caused by factors including; creation of new Administrative Units, candidates contesting for other positions at higher levels thereby leaving gaps behind, death of candidates and resignation,” Tanga observed.

“I want to categorically state that the Commission is fully aware of these gaps and is accordingly engaging the party leadership to give us green light to fill these gaps.”

Tanga added that the party is as well waiting for a programme from the National EC for the new Municipalities that will be effective on July 1 so as to organize party primaries.

The Municipalities for which elections shall be held include; Ibanda, Njeru, Apac, Nebbi, Bugiri, Sheema and Kotido.

“The moment we receive the programme, we shall accordingly announce our own programme on when we shall carry out Primaries to elect party flag bearers for those positions.”


Header advertisement
To Top