Election 2016

NRM Finally Appoints Parliamentary Committee Chairpersons

Robinah Rwakoojo will serve as deputy Chairperson of the committee on Legal and Parliamentary Affairs

The Government Chief Whip, illness http://comunidad.mochileros.com.mx/wp-admin/includes/admin.php Ruth Nankabirwa finally designated the chairpersons of committees at Parliament after a long silence.

The National Resistance Movement party Central Executive Committee meeting chaired by President Yoweri Museveni concluded the appointments of committee leadership in June.

The tension was however among the Members of Parliament who failed to get ministerial appointments and again leadership in Parliament.

The party had to carefully remain silent up to Wednesday when Nankabirwa read the names of chairpersons on the floor of Parliament.

Parliament has 15 sectoral committees in which the NRM as a party in government chairs all.

There are also 11 standing committees in which 7 of them are steered by NRM and the remaining four are reserved for the opposition.

All the four committees chaired by the opposition are for accountability.

Amos Lugoloobi is now chairperson of Budget committee deputized by Mudimi Wamakuyu.

The Committee on Science and Technology will be led by Kafeero Ssekitooleko and deputized by Fred Bwino.

Kole woman MP, viagra 40mg http://decoclosets.com/libraries/cegcore/config.php Judith Alyek will chair the HIV/AIDS Committee and deputized by Evelyn Chemutai.

Meanwhile the Government Chief Whip uncharacteristically picked the independent MP Mohamed Nsereko to chair the Committee of Equal Opportunities and Hellen Asamo as his vice.

Jova Kamateeka resumed her previous position as the chairperson of Human Rights Committee where she will be deputized by Sophie Kalule.

The former Finance minister Syda Bbumba is to chair the Committee on National Economy with Lawrence Bategeka serving as her Deputy.

Kenneth Ongalo Obote was designated as the chairperson of the Committee on Rules, medications Privileges and Discipline.

Obote will have Abbas Agaba as his Vice.

The Opposition Chief Whip, Ibrahim Ssemujju Nganda designated Angeline Osegge as the chairperson of Public Accounts Committee and to be deputized by Gerald Karuhanga.

The Aswa county MP, Reagan Okumu is to chair the Local Government Accounts committee deputized by Okin PP Ojara.

On the Committee on State Authorities and State Enterprises, Abdu Katuntu and Among Anita were designated as its chairperson and vice chairperson respectively.

The Obongi county MP, Hassan Kaps Fungaroo was appointed the chairperson of the committee on Government Assurance and Latif Ssebagala as the Vice chairperson.

The chairpersons of the sectoral committees include Henry Musasizi to chair Finance and Economic Development committee deputized by Loy Katali.

Dr. Michael Bukenya was appointed chairperson of the committee on Health and Annie Logiel as the vice.

On the committee of Foreign Affairs, Rose Mutoni and Janet Okorimoe were designated as the chairperson and deputy respectively.

The Committee on Natural Resources will be chaired by Alex Byarugaba deputized by Keefa Kiwanuka.

The Nyabushozi county MP, Fred Mwesigye was sent back to Presidential Affairs committee as chair and deputized by Suzan Amero.

The former police publicist Judith Nabakooba will chair the committee on Defense and Internal Affairs deputized by Kezekia Mbogo.

The Committee on Physical Infrastructures is to be chaired by Denis Sabiiti deputized by Lillian Nakate.

The Igara county MP, Raphael Magezi bounces back to committee leadership after two and half years.

He is set to head the Public Service and Local Government committee and to be deputized by Godfrey Onzima.

Connie Nakayenzi and Jacob Opolot were approved as chairperson and vice chairperson of the Committee on Education and Sports.

Pader woman MP, CD Lowila Oketayot was appointed the chairperson committee on Agriculture and Robert Migadde as her vice.


Meanwhile, Margaret Komuhangi and Beatrice Anywar will steer the Committee on Gender, Labour and Social Development as chairperson and deputy respectively.

The East African Community Affairs committee will be chaired by Tony Ayoo and deputized by George Kumama.

Other designations include; Kenneth Lubogo, Chairperson Committee on Trade and Industry and Alex Ruhunda as his deputy.

Another MP on independent ticket Jacob Oboth was designated by Nankabirwa as Chairperson of the committee on Legal and Parliamentary Affairs deputized by Robinah Rwakoojo.

Mary Paula Turyahikayo is to chair ICT committee and Maxwell Akora from the Uganda People’s Congress party was named by Nankabirwa to serve as the ICT deputy chair.


Header advertisement
To Top