NRM Extends Primaries Across 5 New Districts

NRM Electoral Commission boss Dr Tanga Odoi

National Resistance Movement has extended its elections for the flag bearers in the five new districts of Rukiga, Bunyangabu, Pakwach, Namisindwa and Kyotera;   from 15th to 21st august 2017.

Dr Tanga Odoi, Chairman of the NRM Electoral Commission says the change followed the national Electoral Commission’s decision to also extend the elections from 29th August 2017 to 21st September 2017.

The NRM voting extension according to Odoi, will help their candidates get more campaigning time.

Header advertisement

Meanwhile, Dr Odoi revealed that the NRM candidates for the Rukiga LC5 seat are now three after Dr Alex Kampikaho was successfully nominated.

Kampikaho’s nomination had earlier been blocked for lack of academic documents.

He will be facing Denis Nkwasibwe Willey the former Kabale district Youth chairperson and Jackson Asiimwe Rwamwehare the former Kamuli RDC in the NRM primaries.

The Rukiga woman MP seat has six candidates; Victoria Abigail Atukunda, Alike Basobokwe, Caroline Kamusiime Muhwezi, Maureen Kyarisima, Pamela Kyomugisha Kihumuro and Charity Twongeirwe Ainebyoona.

The NRM campaigns commence tomorrow Saturday 12th August 2017 and the first rallies are to be held in Kashambya Sub County, where all the candidates will hold a joint campaign.


Header advertisement
To Top