NRM CEC Names Parliament Commissioners, Committee Chairpersons

Museveni with the NRM CEC Members

The National Resistance Movement party Central Executive Committee has named new Commissioners of Parliament, search Chairpersons of committees and representatives to continental and world legislative assemblies.

The CEC members led by the NRM Chairman, President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni convened at Entebbe State House on Wednesday to constitute the ruling party’s parliamentary leadership and also designate members to the Common Wealth and Pan- African Parliaments.

ChimpReports has learnt from sources who attended the high level sitting that the Osuk County Member of Parliament Peter Ogwang, Kibale woman representative Robinah Nabanja and workers legislator Arinaitwe Rwakajara are the names chosen by CEC for Commissioners of Parliament.

“We finished everything about Parliament today. Ogwang, Nabanja and Rwakajara are our new Commissioners,” a source who attended told ChimpReports.

The Government Chief Whip Ruth Nankabirwa presented over 20 names of NRM MPs who expressed their interests but CEC finally zeroed on the 3 mentioned names. The 3 are going to be presented as NRM candidates in the elections next week and with the ruling party enjoying the significant numbers, they are all expected to take the day.

The Parliamentary Commission is the decision making organ of the National Assembly chaired by the Speaker and for 10th Parliament, Rebecca Kadaga.

The Deputy Speaker Jacob Oulanyah, the Prime Minister Ruhakana Rugunda who is also the Leader of Government business are also members. Other members include the Leader of Opposition in Parliament and the Government Chief Whip.

The NRM with 296 MPs equivalent of 69 per cent has 3 more seats in the Commission while the entire opposition parties have one. The Dokolo woman MP Cecilia Atim Ogwal was appointed by FDC early this month as a Parliamentary Commissioner. She was the Chief Opposition Whip in the 9th Parliament.

The 3 names selected by the NRM CEC yesterday are known loyal carders of the party and ever served in various capacities in the Government Chief Whip’s office.

Ogwang was the Deputy Government Chief Whip in the ninth Parliament when he was representing the youths of Eastern Uganda while Nabanja served as the Treasurer in the same office.

The same CEC sitting appointed 25 Chairpersons for Sessional and Standing Committees of Parliament.

With the exception of four accountability committees that are chaired by the opposition, NRM MPs chair all the committees in Parliament.

3 MPs including Felix Okot Ogong of Dokolo South were chosen for the Pan-African Parliament (PAP) that sits in Johannesburg, South Africa.

2 MPs were named for the Common Wealth Parliaments Association (CPA). Ms. Nankabirwa is expected to unveil the names to the public on Friday in an address to the media


Header advertisement
To Top