NRM Caucus to Replace Bahati, Anite Today

David Bahati and Evelyn Anite are set to be replaced today

Uganda Young Democrats (UYD) president, order http://decksplushouston.com/wp-content/plugins/contact-form-7/includes/submission.php Gerald Siranda Blacks is currently detained at the Central Police Station (CPS) in Kampala over unlawful assembly.

Siranda together with two others, sales Robert Sajabi and Robert Mugabe were yesterday night at around 10:00pm picked by policemen at Uganda House where they were holding a preparatory meeting for a press conference slated for today at Emerald Hotel in Kampala along Bombo road.

According to Siranda, dosage the press conference was dubbed “No more” for which he had invited all members of the UYD, Democratic Party (DP), UPC and other political parties.

Header advertisement

It is said that the ‘No More’ press conference was aimed at sensitizing the youth to denounce election irregularities and malpractices.

A source at DP who requested anonymity intimated to us that the meeting was aimed at sensitizing the youth to de-campaign the country’s current electoral process.

Kampala Metropolitan Police Spokesperson, Patrick Onyango told us he had not yet gathered sufficient information about the arrest.

The National Resistance Movement party Caucus is set to replace two of its prominent leaders who visibly and practically became the image of the ruling party when the organ executed sensitive missions of the party in 2014.

The deputy Caucus chairperson David Bahati and Publicist Evelyn Anite were recently appointed and approved as state ministers for Planning and Children and Youth Affairs respectively.

The ministerial assignments automatically detached the two youthful politicians from the Caucus leadership.

Bahati who has been in this Caucus position for two Parliaments and clearly been expected but missing in about 5 cabinet reshuffles, approved http://ccalliance.org/blog/wp-content/plugins/cookies-for-comments/css.php finally made it in February.

Among those contending to take his former position is former state minister for Health, for sale http://cmlsociety.org/wp-content/plugins/events-manager/em-upgrade.php James Kakooza.

Kakooza who is also the Kabula County Member of Parliament was rejected by the Appointment`s Committee in the 2011 ministerial appointment over questionable academic papers together with Ssale Kamba and later Ntegge Ssebagala over the uniform matter.

Others vying for the deputy Caucus chairperson are Eastern youth legislator, Peter Ogwang, Kigulu South MP, Milton Muwuma and Samia Bugwe North MP, John Mulimba all coincidentally from eastern Uganda.

Those in the race to replace Anite, the Caucus iron lady who moved the motion to have President Yoweri Museveni as the only NRM presidential candidate in the coming 2016 general elections, are former Parliamentary Commissioner, Denis Hamsom Obua who is also the Ajuri County MP, Bundibugyo Woman direct representative, Hariet Ntabazi, Kween County MP, Abdi Chemaswet, Otuke Women direct representative, Annet Okwenye and Bunya East County MP, Wayira Majegere.

The new team shall give NRM Caucus a new face given that even the Chairperson, the new Government Chief Whip, Ruth Nankabirwa are all new faces.

It remains unclear if the new team will keep the Caucus spirit burning the way Lumumba, Bahati and Anite did, making the NRM organ one of the most prominent news items, effectively overshadowing the superior party organs mainly Central Executive Committee and National Executive Committee.

The two superior organs of the ruling party instead became rubberstamps for endorsing the junior Caucus organ resolutions.

The election is supposed to take place on Thursday at Parliament overseen by the Leader of Government Business in Parliament, Dr. Ruhakana Rugunda who is also the Prime Minister and the Caucus Chairperson Nankabirwa.

ChimpReports shall bring the details as the event unfold


Header advertisement
To Top