No Party Cards For Rebel MPs, Declares NRM

The ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) party has declared that its rebellious Members of Parliament will not be allowed to register as members of the political organisation and will thus not be issued with party cards.

NRM is currently carrying out fresh registration of its members across the country, in a bid to come up with a new party register after the former Prime Minister Amama Mbabazi allegedly refused to hand in the old one that was compiled in 2010.

Mbabazi maintains the register is available for those who want it.

The new registration exercise was launched by President Yoweri Museveni in Gulu district at the close of last month, amidst calls for NRM members countrywide to register at their respective branch offices in their districts.

Speaking to press at the party headquarters in Kampala on Monday, the new party Secretary General Hon Justine Kasule Lumumba revealed that legislators who came to be known as ‘rebel Mps’ would not be allowed to take part in the ongoing exercise.

The MPs are; Wilfred Niwagaba (Ndorwa County East), Theodore Sekikubo, (Lwemiyaga County) Muhammad Nsereko (Kampala Central) and Barnabas Tinkasimire (Buyaga County)

NRM Secretary General Justine Kasule Lumumba [C] addressing press on Monday

NRM Secretary General Justine Kasule Lumumba [C] addressing press on Monday

These were expunged from the ruling party by the Central Executive Committee (CEC) in 2013, after they were found liable for faulting Rule 4 of the NRM constitution which prohibits; use of foul language, campaigning against official party flag bearers in elections, being an agent of foreign agents to the detriment of the party or country and willfully spreading malicious propaganda.

Court later in July last year blocked an extra effort by the NRM to have the lawmakers kicked out of parliament since they no longer held the party’s flag.

Mrs Lumumba explained that the MPs would not be allowed to register as NRM members before the court case is disposed of.

“The expelled MPs will not be registered or issued with our party cards; not until court proceedings are completed and CEC reconsiders their plight,” she said.

She further revealed that the registration exercise is still ongoing and that in Kampala it would start this week on May 15.

“So far one of the challenges we have encountered is that of people confusing the national [ID] registration and the NRM registration,” she noted.  “We call upon every NRM member to turn up for both registrations.”

The SG also noted that all members of the opposition who wish to join NRM were free but as the NRM constitution requires, they must swear elegance to the Party.

Lumumba added: “Tomorrow we will be hosting six zonal meetings in central region starting 10:00am. The expected Participants include the area members of parliament or flag bearers, the LCV chairpersons of flag bearers, the district NRM Executive committees, the LCIII NRM chairpersons, the sub county NRM chairpersons, the District Administrative Secretaries and the District Registrars.”

On Wednesday NRM will be training sub county registrars, as well as distributing material at district level.

Thursday will see training of village registrars and the actual registration in the central region begins on Friday.

Lumumba said the NRM membership and the registration process is free and open to all Ugandan citizens aged 18 and over.

Header advertisement

Header advertisement
To Top