Nigeria’s Akinwumi Adesina Elected AfDB President

Akinwumi A. Adesina is the new AfDB president

One person on yesterday died on spot and another was injured following an accident in Kabale town along the Kabale- Kisoro road.

Elly maate the Kigezi regional police spokesman identified the deceased as Tyson Muhumuza 18, look from Butobere Ward Kabale Municipality.

He was riding on a bicycle at around 10:50am opposite Kabale main market in Kabale Municipality with one Jude Twinomujuni who on trying to avoid a ditch, buy swerved off and fell on the road and were crushed by the approaching lorry number UAN 553N.

Header advertisement

They were rushed to Kabale hospital where Muhumuza died in the evening hours, this site while Twinomujuni by press time had been confirmed out of danger.

The lorry driver Bright Turinawe 33, was arrested and detained at Kabale police station as

Inquiries into the cause of the accident proceed.
“Today, cure I have been given a great responsibility, here ” Akinwumi A. Adesina said Thursday upon his election as the 8th President of the African Development Bank Group.

The President-Elect said he was “humbled by this remarkable vote of confidence in me” on the part of the Bank’s Board of Governors, site who met during the Bank Group’s 50th Annual Meetings in Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire.

His name was announced by Albert Toikeusse Mabri, Minister of Planning and Development for Côte d’Ivoire, and Chairman of the Board of Governors of the African Development Bank.

The election process was concluded by voting among the Bank’s the Bank’s Board of Governors (54 regional member countries, 26 non-regional), whose voting powers are weighted.

Mabri emphasized that the result “was an expression of the willingness of all the member countries,” and he applauded the “good spirit that prevailed during the election process that was not marked by any tension.”

Currently serving as Nigeria’s Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Akinwumi A. Adesina succeeds Donald Kaberuka, whose second term as President of the Bank ends on August 31, 2015, and to whom he paid tribute in a press conference, saying, “I salute the excellent work of President Kaberuka. It will be a big challenge for me to step into his shoes. He leaves a solid Bank behind him.”

In his speech at the Annual Meetings opening ceremony on Monday, May 25, outgoing AfDB President Donald Kaberuka had said: “To my incoming successor, my very best wishes.  Ten years goes by very quickly. It is a complex and merciless job, but very exciting. It is, in fact, not a job – but a mission.”

Akinwumi A. Adesina, 55, will assume office on 1 September 2015.

A total of eight candidatures received by the closing date of 30 January 2015 were approved by the Steering Committee of the Board of Governors.  The list of candidates was officially announced on 20 February 2015.

The other candidates in the election were:

Sufian Ahmed (Ethiopia)

Jaloul Ayed (Tunisia)

Kordjé Bedoumra (Chad)

Cristina Duarte (Cabo Verde)

Samura M W Kamara (Sierra Leone)

Thomas Z Sakala (Zimbabwe)

Birama Boubacar Sidibé (Mali)



Akinwumi A. Adesina succeeds:

Mamoun Beheiry (Sudan), President, African Development Bank, 1964-1970

Abdelwahab Labidi (Tunisia), President, African Development Bank, 1970-1976

Kwame Donkor Fordwor (Ghana), African Development Bank, 1976-1980

Willa Mung’Omba (Zambia), President, African Development Bank, 1980-1985

Babacar N’diaye (Senegal), President, African Development Bank, 1985-1995

Omar Kabbaj (Morocco), President, African Development Bank, 1995-2005

Donald Kaberuka (Rwanda), President, African Development Bank, 2005-present


Header advertisement
To Top