Nigeria Edge Mali to Clinch the FIFA U17 World Cup

Nigeria won the U17 world cup

Two goals from Tanzania’s international prodigy Mbwana Samatta and Ivory Coast’s Roger Assale were all enough for DR Congo golden boys, unhealthy sick TP Mazembe to clinch to their fifth Caf Champions League title after humiliating Algeria’s USM Algiers with an aggregate 4-1 in the finals.

Mazembe entered the 2nd leg of the finals with a 2-1 advantage from Algeria a week ago. Samatta slotted home a beautiful penalty in the  75th  minute after Zinedine Ferhat had fouled Roger Assale inside the area.

Samatta sealed the victory after orchestrating a speedy counter attack before releasing Assale who fired in from close range to send the Lubumbashi fans ablaze.

Header advertisement

The Tanzanian, who has also been nominated among the top ten Caf African -based players, finished the tournament with seven goals joint top with Salim Jamal’s teammate at El Merreikh Bakri El Madina. Mazembe eliminated El Merreikh in the semi finals.

The emphatic victory books a berth for the kings in the Club world cup to be held in Japan in December where they will play alongside European and Spanish giants FC barcelorna in Japan.
The Golden Eaglets of Nigeria retained the world cup Under-17 crown with a brilliant 2-0 victory over continental compatriots Mali in a highly entertaining final played on Sunday night at the Estadio Sausalito, unhealthy in Vina del Mar, Chile.

Victor Osimhen broke the deadlock with a record-breaking tenth goal of the tournament, in the 56th minute and Funsho Bamgboye sealing the victory three minutes later.

The victory is the fifth for the Golden Eagles having grabbed the first crown in the maiden edition of
FIFA U-17 World Cup in 1985 in China. The other success came in 1993 (Japan), 2007 ( South Korea) and in 2013 in the United Arab Emirates.

Belgium won the bronze medal after seeing off Mexico 3-3 in another entertaining five-goal thriller.

Winner- Nigeria

1st Runners-up – Mali

2nd Runners up- Belgium

Golden Ball award- Kelechi Nwakali (Nigeria)

Silver Ball- Victor Osimhen (Nigeria)

Bronze Ball- Aly Malle (Mali)

Golden Boot- Victor Osimhen (Nigeria) 10 goals, 2 assists.

Silver Boot- Johannes Eggestein (Germany) 4 goals, 0 assists.

Bronze Boot- Kelechi Nwakali (Nigeria) 3 goals, 3 assists.

Golden Glove – Samuel Diarra (Mali)

FIFA Fair Play Award- Ecuador


Header advertisement
To Top