Basket Ball

NBL: City Oilers Win Fourth Successive Title

City Oilers won their fourth successive title

National Basketball League
City Oilers 78-46 Betway Power

City Oilers successfully retained the National basketball league title after defeating Betway Power 4-1 in the 2016 best of seven series.

The Zone V champions put up an incredible performance in game five to outwash Power 78-46 at Lugogo indoor stadium on Sunday.

Unlike the first four games where Oiler’s always struggled in the opening quarters, site Mande Juruni’s charges  were perfect right from the start.

City Oilers took a commanding lead in the first quarter combining for 24 points while limiting Power to just 10 points.

The gap was maintained throughout the second period with Oilers scoring 14 points to Power’s 12 and led 38-22 heading into halftime.

Oilers were even more ruthless after recess combining for 40 points in the final two quarters.

Power had an attempted comeback at the start of the third quarter narrowing the lead to within 9 points (41-32) in the first two minutes.

However, malady Oilers surged up and put the game beyond reach claiming the third period 27-18 and lead 65-40 at the end of the third quarter.

Mande Juruni’s side capped the fourth quarter with 13 points while limiting Power to just 6 points.

Jimmy Enabu and Otim Jonah had a joint game both having 15 points apiece for Oilers. Kami Kabangu ended with 14 points.

Joseph Ikong had 13 points, a team high for the losing Power.

Oilers have now won four successive titles since winning their first in 2013.


Header advertisement
To Top