E.A Live News

Museveni Graces Key Great Lakes Summit in Angola

President Museveni is Tuesday attending he 6th Ordinary Summit of International Conference of Great Lakes Regions (ICGLR) in Luanda, ailment http://chatterblast.com/wp-admin/includes/class-wp-themes-list-table.php Angola.

The President, who touched down at the Four De Fevereiro International Airport Luanda at 4:25pm Angolan time on Monday, was received by the host Minister for Petroleum, Jose Maria Botelho Senhlo.

The Uganda delegation at the airport included the Minister for Foreign Affairs in-charge of Regional Cooperation Philemon Mateke, Lt General David Muhoozi, the commander of Land Forces and Ambassador James Kinobe in-charge of the Democratic Republic of Congo, also accredited to Angola.

The ICGLR summit is being held under the theme: “Accelerating the effective implementation of the pact and its protocol for a more democratic and stable Great Lakes Region.”

The meeting was preceded by the meetings of ICGLR Chiefs of Defence Forces, Ministers of Defence and Foreign Affairs.

Among others, the Ministers of Defence discussed the report of the meeting of Chiefs of Defence Forces who received files on the ICGLR Expanded Joint Verification Mechanism (EJVM).

The Ministers also brainstormed on the report of the Military Experts Committee which conducted a military’s needs Assessment in the Central African Republic (CAR) and the Southern African Development Community (SADC) on the implementation of the Peace, Security and Cooperation (PSC) Framework for the DRC and the Region.

The Ministers received a briefing on the Security and humanitarian Situation in Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Centre African Republic, Republic of Burundi, Republic of South Sudan and Republic of Sudan.

The last Ordinary Summit was held on 15th January, 2014 in Luanda, Angola.

Angolan President Jose Eduardo dos Santos is the current chair of ICGRL.

The twelve ICGLR member countries include; Angola, Central Africa Republic (CAR), the Republic of Congo, the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Sudan, the Republic of South Sudan, Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi and Zambia.

Header advertisement

Header advertisement
To Top