Museveni Appoints Justice Byabakama to Replace Kiggundu at EC

President Yoweri Museveni has nominated six people to replace the outgoing leadership of the Electoral Commission.

The tenure of the Electoral Commission under Eng Badru Kiggundu, search ended yesterday November 17, adiposity having served since 2002.

President Museveni nominated Justice Simon M. Byabakama to take the chair of the Commission.

Byabakama is to be Deputized by Hajjati Aisha Lubega.

The other commissioners nominated are Peter Emorut, more about Stephen Tashobya (Former MP in Ntungamo and Chairman Uganda Red Cross), Prof. George Piwang and Mustapha Ssebagala Kigozi

The president has forwarded their names to Speaker Rebecca Kadaga for  parliamentary consideration and approval.

The members of the commission serve a seven year term which can only be renewed for one more term only.

The appointments by the President will not be wholly welcomed by a group of Women activists under Uganda the Women’s Network (UWONET), who wanted the president to appoint and approve at least four women on the new commission.

UWONET women led by the Executive Director Ritah Aciro told the media on Thursday that their call was in line with Objective VI of the National Objectives and Directive Principles of State Policy which state that ‘the State shall ensure gender balance and fair representation of marginalized groups on all Constitutional and other bodies’.

UWONET Members wanted at least four women on the new EC

UWONET Members wanted at least four women on the new EC

“Acknowledging the fundamental role of an independent EC to promote and preserve the ability of all eligible citizens and equally participate in the electoral processes, the women make this urgent and critical call for the consideration and demonstration of gender parity principles in the appointment process of the Chairperson and Commissioners to EC,” Aciro said.

UWONET petitioned Parliament recently and also write to the president forwarding him a list of able and eminent women that would best serve in the commission.

Among their suggestions was former Minister for Ethics Miria Matembe, former Deputy Secretary General of the East African legislative Assembly Beatrice Kiraso ,the Chairperson of Uganda women’s Network Tezira Jamwa ,Irene Ovonji from Fida –Uganda, Solome Nakawesa, Christine Lawoka, Dr. Zahara Nampeewo  and Prof. Florence Ahikire the dean of School Woman and Gender at Makerere University .



Header advertisement
To Top