Election 2016

MPs Start Swearing-in Today

Speaker Rebecca Kadaga

A total of 426 newly elected and the re-elected members of the 10th Parliament are set for the swearing-in and taking oath of allegiance on Monday.

The event scheduled to take place at the Parliamentary building is to run for three days – from 16th to 18th May 2016.

According to the programme from the Clerk to Parliament, nurse http://davepoulin.ca/wp-includes/class-wp-embed.php Jane Kibirige seen by ChimpReports, http://curaacufeni.com/wp-includes/revision.php 145 Members of Parliament are to be sworn in today basing on alphabetical order.

The Moyo district Woman MP, http://crankygenius.com/wp-admin/includes/class-wp-filesystem-ftpext.php Ms. Ababiku Jesca is the first on the list of 75 members to be sworn in from 8:30 AM to 1:30 PM and the last on the same list is former Masaka Blessed Sacrament Kimanya SS head teacher, Ms. Babirye Kabanda now representing Masaka district women in the National Assembly.

An additional 70 MPs take oath in the afternoon.

Notable figures to be sworn in today are the Speaker of Parliament Rebecca Alitwa Kadaga, Uganda People’s Congress President Jimmy Akena who represents Lira Municipality and also the son of former President Milton Obote.

Akena’s wife Betty Amongi who represents Oyam South and remains the Chairperson of Uganda Women Parliamentary Association is among those taking oath today.

The strict guideline from the Clerk’s office only permits each MP to enter Parliament with a maximum of 5 guests and a single car.

“Because of limited space each MP elect is allowed to be accompanied by only 5 guests and parking will be provided for only one vehicle.

Public service vehicles or trucks will not be allowed to access Parliament due to the formation of the Parking yard,” part of the guideline reads.

ChimpReports will provide live coverage of the event both on our website and social media platforms.


Header advertisement
To Top