MP Wilfred Niwagaba to Head Kabale District Roads Committee

Wilfred Niwagaba (R) with Theodore Ssekikuubu (C) and Barnabas Tinkasiimire in Ndorwa recently

Ndorwa County East Member of Parliament, order Wilfred Niwagaba has been elected as the new Kabale District road fund committee chairperson.

Niwagaba, an independent member of parliament was elected unopposed in the meeting that was held on Thursday  at the Ministry of  Finance  board room chaired by the state minister  of planning
David  Bahati who doubles as the Kabale Parliamentary  Forum chairperson .

Now serving his third term as Ndorwa County East member of Parliament, Niwagaba  served the last two terms served as an NRM member but later fell out with  the party leadership leading to him and his other three colleagues   Mohammed Nsereko (Kampala) , Barnabas  Tinkasiimire ( buyaga) and Theodore Ssekikubo ( Lwemiyaga ) to be expelled from the party.

He was elected  on Thursday by the committee members who included MPs , Local Council  leaders as well as technocrats from Kabale at the meeting chaired by the State Minister  for Planning, David  Bahati.

Patrick Besigye Keihwa, the Kabale LC5 boss said that there is need for government to increase on the money that it gives to the district as road fund saying that the funds allocated are meager.

“We receive 490 million shillings to work on 500 kilometers of road while roads from the central government are well funded liked those under the CAIIP Program a road of 7 kilometers is given 725 million shillings,” he noted.

Wilfred Niwagaba who is the shadow Attorney General pledged to co-operate with district leaders to make sure all the roads in the district are in good condition.

The seven member road committee is composed of all Members of Parliament in the district, the district chairperson and two engineers, one from the municipality and the other from the district.


Header advertisement
To Top