Masaza Cup: Buddu Win Maiden Masaza Cup

Buddu are 2016 Masaza cup champions after defeating Gomba in penalties

2016 Masaza cup

Buddu 1-1 Gomba
Buddu win( 6-5) on penalties

Third place playoff
Bussunju 1-1 Kyagwe
Bussunju win (4-2)on penalties

Header advertisement

Buddu have finally had their name written in the history of Buganda Masaza cup winners after edging past Gomba in the finals played at Mandela National stadium, story Namboole on Saturday.

Buddu and Gomba played to a 1-1 draw in the mandatory 90 minutes before the former edged Gomba 6-4 to win their maiden Masaza cup.

Lawrence Ssonko gave the three time champions the lead in the 24th minute heading home from David Mudali’s well curled corner kick but the lead was short lived when Robert Mukongotya levelled matters for Buddu twelve minutes later.

Mukongotya raced to Julius “Maggu” Kazibwe’s free kick to volley past Gomba’s goalkeeper Yiga Joseph for the equaliser.

The game was decided on spot kicks after the two sides squared off in normal time.
Mikidadi Ssenyonga and Ssegonja Possiano missed their penalties for Buddu to lift their first title.

The biggest news however was Buddu’s hot property Jjanjali Joseph missing in the squad that played for reasons not yet clear. Jjanjali prior to the game was the leading top scorer with six goals before teammate Mukongotya scored to have the same tally.

Buddu win their first title on the second attempt after falling to Ssingo last year in their debut final.

Spot kicks

Arnold Ssembuya (Scored)
Jeriga Atendere(Scored)
Shakidu Mbazira(Scored)
Nsimbe Badru Jibril(Scored)
Malida Kuteesa(Missed)
Muwawu Steven (Scored)
Robert Mukongotya(Scored)

Ivan Sserubiri(scored)
Nicholas Kabonge (Scored)
Edward Ssatwe(scored)
Possiano Ssegonja(missed)
Joshua “Neymar” Kaliisa(scored)
Hassan Ali Luboyeera(scored)
Mikidadi Ssenyonga(Missed)

Past winners
Gomba -2004
Gomba -2009
Not held -2010


Header advertisement
To Top