KPL Awards: Nkata Nominated, Batambuze Snubbed

Shafiq Batambuze preparing to take a freekivk for Tusker FC. He scored three goals and assisted seven in 28 appearances as a defender.

Tusker FC coach Paul ‘Latest’ Nkata has been nominated among the candidates for the 2016 Kenya Premier League coach of the year.

Nkata became the first coach at Tusker FC to win both the Premier league title and the GOTV shield, cheapest a version of the league cup.

He will contest the lucrative gong alongside Gormahia’s Brazilian tactician Jose Ferreira, more about Francis Baraza (Chemelil Sugar) Henry Omino (Western Stima) and Zedekiah Otieno from Posta Rangers.

Header advertisement

Batambuze snubbed
Just like every other award, information pills and second consecutive in the KPL, this one has its fair share of controversies and disagreements, from both fans and experts.

This time round, most pundits are questioning the omission of Tusker and Uganda Cranes wing back Shafiq Batambuze who has almost been a focal point in the brewers success this season.

Batambuze made 28 appearances out of 30 games with three crucial goals including the winner against giants AFC leopards as they won the league. He has contributed seven points directly from his goals and registered seven nore assists from the left back position.

List from Selected categories

Most Valuable Player;
Erick Ouma (Gor Mahia)
John Makwatta (Ulinzi Stars)
David Okello (Tusker FC)
Kenneth Muguna (Western Stima)
Humphrey Mieno (Tusker FC)

Goalkeeper of the Year
Patrick Matasi (Posta Rangers)
Boniface Oluoch (Gor Mahia)
David Okello (Tusker FC)
James Saruni (Ulinzi Stars)
Michael Wanyika (Kakamega Homeboyz)

Defender of the Year
George Owino (Mathare United)
Noah Abich (Sofapaka)
Musa Mohammed (Gor Mahia)
Joackins Atudo (Posta Rangers)
James Situma (Tusker FC)

Midfielder of the Year
Kenneth Muguna (Western Stima)
Wyvonne Isuza (Mathare United)
Humphrey Mieno (Tusker FC)
Francis Kahata (Gor Mahia)
Hillary Echesa (Chemelil Sugar)
Golden Boot
John Makwatta (Ulinzi Stars)
Wycliffe Ochomo (Muhoroni Youth)
Kepha Aswani (AFC Leopards)

New player of the Year
Erick Marcelo Ouma (Gor Mahia)
Kenneth Muguna (Western Stima)
Cavin Odongo (Posta Rangers)
Jacques Tuyisenge (Gor Mahia)
Oliver Maloba (City Stars)

Coach of the Year
Paul Nkata (Tusker FC)
Francis Baraza (Chemelil Sugar)
Henry Omino (Western Stima)
Jose Ferreira (Gor Mahia)
Zedekiah Otieno (Posta Rangers)

Additional reporting from Soka


Header advertisement
To Top