South Sudan

Kiir Issues First 2017 Decree, Creates 7 New States

South Sudan President, Salva Kiir Mayardit

The South Sudan President, viagra approved Salva Kiir has issued the first Republican Decree for the new year 2017, viagra dosage unilaterally creating additional 7 states on top of the contentious 28 states.
The national broadcaster SSTV on Saturday evening televised the new presidential decree that is going to be subjected to national assembly approval.
“The President as the National Chairman of SPLM has named 7 new states,” part of the statement read on SST said.
The new states are Northern Upper Nile State with Renk as its capital, Central Upper Nile State to maintain Malakal as its capital, Maiwut State and Maiwut town becomes its capital.
Other new states are Latjor State (Nassir as its capital), Bieh State (Waat), Akobo (Akobo) and Tumbura (Tumbura).
It remains unclear if Kiir consulted the First Vice President Taban Deng who is steering the Transitional Government of National Unity with the former.
Taban broke away from Machar and also contentiously took the latter’s position as number two in the unity government when he fled from the capital Juba.
This is the second time President Kiir is creating new states.
On 2nd October 2015 Kiir issued a decree, forming 28 states out of the original 10.
The move was condemned by the Machar group, the peace negotiator IGAD and the international community since the peace agreement signed in August the same year was based on 10 states.
The National Assembly later approved the states and are existing to date.
The 28 states are Imatong, Nyamonong, Maridi, Amadi, Gbudwe, Juba, Terekeka, Yei River, Greater Bhar el Ghazal, Wau, Aweil, Lol, Aweil East, Twic , Gogrial East, Tonj, Eastern Lake, Western Lake, Greater Upper Nile, Northern Liech, Southern Liech, Ruweng, Eastern Nile, Jonglei, Western Nile,Western Bieh, Eastern Bieh, Latjor and Boma.


Header advertisement
To Top