Kibaale District to Retain Chairperson in New Elections

Joseph Biribonwa, Ag. Chairperson Electoral Commission

Kibaale District will not hold elections for District Chairperson as expected, link Chimp Corps report.

Electoral Commission Acting Chairperson, find Dr Joseph Biribonwa, drugs said in a statement that the body received notice from the Chairperson of Kibaale District, Mr Peter Amara, opting to remain as Chairperson of Kibaale District Local Government.

Kibaale district council recently approved the creation of Kagadi and Kakumiro districts to improve service delivery.

Biribonwa said the Electoral Commission’s decision is in accordance with Section 181 (1) and (2) of the Local Governments Act Cap 243.

The law provides that, “where a Chairperson or a member of the executive committee of an original Council is a person who was representing an electoral area within the newly created Local Government, the person shall cease to hold that office.”

The quoted law further states that, “Notwithstanding sub section (1) a Chairperson elected by universal adult suffrage shall have an option to remain Chairperson of the original Local Government.”

Accordingly, observed Biribonwa, the Electoral Commission will conduct elections for District Chairpersons in the new districts of Kagadi and Kakumiro.

He said the elections will be held in accordance with the programme which was released on 30th June 2016.”

The Electoral Commission appealed to all stakeholders to participate in the above activities in accordance with the guidelines for the elections.

Biribonwa also clarified that the election of the District Chairperson and the District Woman Representative to Parliament for Omoro District is being conducted in accordance with the Resolution of Parliament of Thursday 3rd September 2015, which provides that the new district of Omoro consists of Omoro County, with its headquarters at Omoro County Headquarters.


Header advertisement
To Top