KCCA FC Ease Past Paidha Black Angels to Clinch Fufa Super Cup

KCCA FC crowned Super Cup Champions (KCCA FC media photo)

Saturday, September 9

KCCA FC 3-0 Paidha Black Angels

Azam Premier League Champions KCCA FC successfully defended the Uganda Super Cup with a routine victory against Paidha Black Angels in a game played at the Muteesa II Stadium in Wankulukuku.

In a repeat of the 2016/2017 Uganda (Kakungulu) Cup final, Mike Mutebi’s side as expected did not find any tougher resistance from the Black Angels as 3 first half goals sealed an emphatic victory.

Patrick Kaddu, Allan Okello and Tito Okello went onto the scoresheet in that order to put the game far away from Paidha’s reach.

KCCA FC’s Charles Lukwago was named the Man of the match and the shot stopper recieved the gong fron FUFA President Engineer Moses Magogo.

Why KCCA FC and Paidha Black Angels

Uganda Super Cup is a curtain raiser to the new upcoming Football League season and it’s an equivalent of the Community Shield (England), Super Copa de Espana (Spain) and DFL Super cup (Germany).

It is contested by two teams; Previous Winners of the League and the Uganda (Kakungulu) Cup.

Since KCCA FC had won both the League and Uganda Cup, its Paidha Black Angels who were the Uganda Cup runners up that came in as the Champions of the Uganda cup.

The Cup is a one off final normally played at a neutral venue.

What next for both Sides

KCCA FC will look to retain their league crown starting this Tuesday, September 12 as they host Marooons FC at the rebranded StarTimes Stadium in Lugogo.

Paidha Black Angels still have some days to rest as they wait for the FUFA Big League Season to kick off later on.

Teams Used

KCCA XI: Charles Lukwago, Dennis Okot, Habib Kavuma, Filbert Obenchan, Isaac Kirabira, Ibrahim Wamanah, Paul Mucureezi, Mustapha Kizza, Patrick Kaddu, Tito Okello, Allan Okello.

Subs: Jamal Maliyamungu, Julius Poloto, Allan Oryek, Faisal Malango, Faisal Kiberu, James Begisa, Lawrence Bukenya.

Coach: Mike Hilary Mutebi.

Paidha Black Angels XI: Jonathan Oyirwoth, Andrew Kidega, Cheka Sabiri, Julius Okumu, Khalid Odagiu, Hussein Kabaya, Stephen Mwaka, Shaban Farouk, Blaise Kasiki, Cromwel Rwothemio, Male Nsereko.

Subs: Steven Odong, Vincent Malobe, Jeremie Egonkonza, Jackson Nsubuga, Francis Otim, Caesar Olega, Erick Oyirwoth.

Coach: Ali Hussein Kheri


Header advertisement
To Top