Jinja SS Defeat Kitende to Win Maiden NPP Title

Jinja SS have won their first Copa Cocacola title

National Post Primary 2017
Jinja SS 1(4-3)1 St.Mary’s  Kitende

Jinja Secondary school emerged winners of the 2017 National Post Primary schools tournament after edging past traditional giants St. Mary’s Kitende in the final played at the Masaka Recreation ground on Saturday.

In a game attended by a mammoth crowd, view Jinja SS defied the odds to go on and win their first ever title emerging victorious in a tense penalty shootout (4-3) after normal time had ended in a one all draw

The game lived to the billing with either side proving they were worth to be in the finals. Sharp shooter Joel Madondo put Jinja SS in the lead but lanky forward Kennedy Kasozi leveled matters at the death of the clock for Kitende and the game had to be decided on penalties

Jinja SS had a goal disallowed as early as the 8th minute with Ivan Wani flagged offside. Madondo had fired a thunderous effort with keeper Eric Kibowa saved but Wani was quick to fire home the rebound albeit it was cancelled.

Kitende on the other end were awarded a penalty in the 22nd minute after defender Peter Ssebagala was judged to have held the ball inside the area but Pius Wangi blew the chance from the spot kick wide firing above the goal area.

Crafty midfielder Francis Tumwesigye alias Zagga was withdrawn at the start of second half and replaced by Watambala Abdu after sustaining an injury. Pius Wangi also paved way for Mpanga Sulaiman.

Madondo put Jinja SS ahead in the 71st minute firing home from close range to send the fully parked stadium into frenzy. He however did not finish the game after pulling a muscle and limped off with 5 minutes to play.

With the game destined for the end, medicine Kitende leveled matters after poor defending by Jinja SS cost them as Kasozi picked a back pass from Innocent Okatwengu to fire home.

Jinja SS however held the nerves to win the penalty shootout 4-3 with Asiku Bashir and Abdu Watambala missing their spot kicks for Kitende.

Kibuli SS had defeated Nakaseke International earlier on in the third placeoff 1-0 courtesy of Julius Poloto’s goal and the three teams will now represent Uganda at the East African games scheduled for August in Gulu district.

Jinja SS starting XI

Lazarus Obulegyo, Onzima Peter, Kabowa George William, Peter Ssebagala, Najib Fesali, Jerome Kirya (C), Lawrence Terikya, Nasur Ramathan, Joel Madondo, Zziwa Vicent, Ivan Wani

Kitende stating XI

Eric Kibowa, Salim Kyobe, Bashir Asiku,Kennedy Kasozi,Brian Kalumba,Isaac Nsengiyunva,Ashraf Banturaki (C), Frank Tumwesigye, Pius Wangi, Robert Kitabalwa, Simon Oryam Tabu

Winners – Jinja Secondary School

Runners up – St.Mary’s Kitende

Third place- Kibuli SS

TOP scorer –Abdallah Ssenyonga (St. Julian 16 goals)

MVP- Ivan Wani (Jinja SS)


Header advertisement
To Top