FJL: Soana Soccer Academy Crowned 2016/17 Juniors League Champions

Soana soccer academy celebrate after winning the title

Soana soccer academy defied all odds to go on and win the 2016/17 season defeating Kampala Capital City Authority Soccer Academy (KCCA SA).

In an epic final played at Kakindu stadium on Friday, ailment Soana soccer academy edged past KCCA SA in a tense penalty shootout after normal time ended goalless.

The two sides put up a fantastic display making the final fitting amidst cheers from the fans that braved the rains at Kakindu stadium.

Header advertisement

KCCA soccer academy who came into the final as overwhelming favorites will have to rue the several chances missed in normal time.

Leading top scorer Sadat Anaku, Ivan Asaba and Timothy Odong were all culprits on the day missing several chances.

Soana goalkeeper Jamil Bukenya was also alert on the day making several saves to deny KCCA soccer academy.

Despite getting a penalty late into the game (4 minutes) to time, KCCA soccer academy captain Jurua Francis failed to convert and Soana eventually won the shootout 4-2.

There was a tactical change for Soana soccer academy towards the spot kicks with midfielder Sulaiman Kimbugwe taking to goal and he was able to save two penalties.

Soana led the hat trick group with 53 points in regular season while KCCA soccer academy topped group on 67 points.

Soana starting XI

Jamil Bukenya,Moses Wamala,Grace Kiwumulo,Aaron Desire Kyeyune,Wilber Kabwama,Solomon Maiso,Ivan Ssekidde,Sulaiman Kimbugwe,Ismail Hakim Ddamulira, Reagan Mpande,Ivan Joel Okello

KCCA soccer academy

Joram Nsubuga,Innocent Biyika,Ivan Eriga,Dennis Kato,Reagan Kasumba,Francis Jurua, Ivan Asaba,Issa Ochama,Sadat Anaku,Timothy Odong, Gerald Kawooya

Penalty shootout

KCCA Soccer Academy

Ivan Eriga (Scored)

Dennis Kato(Scored)

Jurua Francis (Missed)

Innocent Biyika(Missed)


Soana soccer academy

Ivan Ssekidde(Scored)

Wilber Kabwama(Scored)

Solomon Maiso(Scored)

Emmanuel Kiiza(Scored)


Winners – Soana soccer academy

Runners up – KCCA soccer academy

MVP- Ivan Asaba(KCCA)

Best goalkeeper- Jamil Bukenya (Soana )

Top scorer Hat trick group- Fred Massa(Kirinya SS JT, 20 goals)

Top scorer treble group-Sadat Anaku(KCCA, 27 goals)




Header advertisement
To Top