FDC Loses Out as Parliament Finally Elects EALA MPs

One of the winners George Odongo being congratulated

Parliament has at last elected 9 representatives to the East African Legislative Assembly, adiposity none of them from the leading opposition party Forum for Democratic Change.

The winners are

Rose Akol – 370 Votes

George Odong – 346

Mathias Kasamba – 359

Fred Mukasa Mbidde – 311

Mary Mugyenyi – 341

Denis Namara – 329

Chris Opoka – 298

Susan Nakawuki – 329

Regan Okumu – 274

and Paul Musamali  – 350.

DP's Fred Mukasa Mbidde was reelected to EALA

DP’s Fred Mukasa Mbidde was reelected to EALA

As anticipated, all 6 NRM nominees went through, as well as the incumbent opposition candidates Fred Mukasa Mbidde, (DP) and UPC’s Chris Opoka.

The MPs also elected one independent candidate Susan Nakawuki, to fill the nine positions.

NRM's Paul Musamali

NRM’s Paul Musamali

Both FDC’s candidates Ingrid Turinawe who could not even be allowed to freely campaign earlier in day, as she was shouted down by the ruling party MPs, as well as Florence Ibi lost out in the poll.

Commenting on the poll results, Government Chief Whip Ruth Nankwabirwa commended the NRM MPs for voting as a team. She also expressed optimism that Uganda has sent a powerful team to the regional parliament.


Header advertisement
To Top