FBL: Maroons Crowned Champions as Mbarara City Seal Final Promotion Slot

Maroons players celebrate after being crowned champions

Fufa Big league Playoff slot
Mbarara FC 2-1 Synergy

Maroons 2-1 Masavu

Mbarara City Football Club earned their maiden promotion to the Uganda Premier League after edging past Synergy.

Header advertisement

A brace from lanky forward Makweth Alex ensured Mbarara City defeated Synergy 2-1 despite Solomon Okwalinga scoring for Synergy in the playoff game played at Phillip Omondi stadium on Sunday.

Makweth scored the opener 10 minutes into the game to give Mbarara City the lead.

However, this Synergy levelled matters through skipper Solomon Okwalinga and it was all square by halftime.

With the game destined to end, cheapest Makweth beat the synergy defence to slot past goalkeeper James Zakke in the 90th minute and send the fans into wild jubilations.

Mbarara City eventually won the game 2-1 to earn a slot into next season’s Uganda Premier League.

In the final, Maroons came from a goal down to defeat Masavu FC 2-1 at the same ground.

Joseph Nkabirwa gave Masavu the lead in the 20th minute tapping home from a rebound after Onesmus Andama’s hit the woodwork.

Maroons surged up towards the end of first half with Patrick Kaddu and Solomon Walusimbi scoring in the 43rd and 44th minute respectively.

Synergy’s midfielder Solomon Okwalinga was named the Most Valuable player while Maroon’s Asaph Mwebaze took home the best coach accolade.

Winners -Maroons FC

Runners Up – Masavu FC

3rd place – Mbarara City FC

MVP- Solomon Okwalinga (Synergy)

Best Referee – Ali Kaddu

Fair play Award – Ndejje University

Best Coach – Asaph Mwebaze(Maroons)

Best Goalkeeper- Muhammad Ssekeba (Mbarara City)

Top Scorer – Kaddu Patrick (Maroons)

Best online Journalist- David Isabirye (Kawowo Sports)

Best Radio Journalist – Lawrence Bwanika (Fufa FM)


Header advertisement
To Top