Express Edge Past Resilient Saints

Express players greeting The Saints' players at the start of the game. (Photo by: Express Club Media)

Uganda premier league
The Saints 1-2 Express FC

Express football club recorded their second win of the season after a 2-1 hard fought win over the Saints at Bombo barracks ground on Saturday.

An own goal from the Saints skipper Dennis Ssekitoleko and John Ssemazi’s header in the second half ensured the red eagles claimed maximum points despite the saints pulling one back through Ivan Kiweewa’s penalty.

Header advertisement

After a slow start to the game, sickness Express took the lead in the 31st minute when Ssekitoleko failed to deal with Yayo Lutimba’s cross and tapped the ball into his own net.

Moses Basena, The saints coach opted for an early change replacing Patrick Gonhasa with Ezekiel Katende in the 37th minute. The home side almost levelled matters a minute into halftime but Mulambula Moses attempt to lobe the ball past Express goalkeeper sailed above the goal.

Saints introduced Ivan Kiweewa and Alex Witaba after recess and the duo provided instant energy.

Kiweewa levelled matters through a penalty in the 56th minute after Kiggundu had fouled Witaba inside the forbidden area.

John Ssemazi restored the lead for the visitors when he powered in Mike Mutyaba’s freekick to beat Saint’s goalkeeper Alex Mugabi at the near post.

Express held on to the score despite the saints pilling pressure for the equaliser in the final minutes of the game.

The result means the saints move from 8th to 10th position with 4 points while Express dispense Vipers to go third on 8 points same as second placed Sc Villa who drew with Lweza.

Saints XI
Alex Mugabi, Fred Agandu, Issa Mubiru, Dennis Ssekitoleko, Joseph Othieno, Aloro Rogers, Aggrey Kirya (53′ Alex Witaba), Robert Nakyenalire, Mulambula Moses(46′ Ivan Kiweewa),Godfrey Wakaza, Gonhasa Patrick (37′ Ezekiel Katende)

Saints Unused substitutes
Ssebuliba Joseph, Kisambira Julius, Ivan Wava,George Ssenkaaba

Express XI
Ali Kiggundu, Musa Mukasa, Yayo Lutimba, Bob Kasozi, Farouk Matovu, Derrick Ttekwo(62′ Allan Kyambadde), Richard Kigozi, Mahad Kakooza, Herman Wasswa (67′ Ivan Sserunkuma), Mike Mutyaba, John Ssemazi

Express Unused Substitutes
Ivan Mutumba, Noah Ssemakula, Mohammed Hassan, Paddy Tebusweke, Mubiru Yaffesi


Header advertisement
To Top