EC Releases Program for Upper Madi County MP By-Elections

Chairman of the Electoral Commission Justice Simon Byabakama addressing media on Friday

The Electoral Commission has Friday released the program for the by elections of Member of Parliament for Upper Madi County, diagnosis Arua District.

The vacancy of the area directly elected MP occurred following a court nullification of the election of Hon Isaac Joackino Etuuka.

The Court of Appeal ruled  last month that Etuuka was wrongly nominated by the Electoral Commission and included on the ballot paper.

Header advertisement

The Court of Appeal judges re-evaluated the evidence on record and found out that Etuka’s nomination as the NRM flag -bearer was cancelled on the eve of the February 18th/2016 General elections by virtue of a court order obtained by his competitor Martin Drito.

Chairman of the Electoral Commission Justice Simon Byabakama Mugenyi says they received the notice from court on 26th April 2017, for sale which puts the statutory deadline for holding the by-election on 24th June 2017.

While addressing journalists at the EC headquarters, nurse Justice Mugenyi announced the program for the by election as follows;

EC will hold the stakeholders meeting on Monday 8th may 2017, at the Arua District headquarters.

Updating of the National Voters register will be conducted from 8th-12th May with in all the 15 parishes in upper Madi County starting from 8:00am till 6:00pm.

Display of the voters register will be from 22nd -31st May at all polling stations from 8:00am till 6:00pm.

There will be a display of the lists of persons recommended for deletion from the register by the public for a period of 8days from 5th -12th June at the respective Parishes.

Nomination of candidates will be from 31st May -5th June at the office of the returning officer.

Campaign meetings shall be held for a period of sixteen days, that is from 5th to 20th June.

The campaign meetings or public rallies shall be conducted only within the stipulated time that is from 7:00am until 6:00pm on each of the days

Polling shall take place on Thursday 22nd June at all polling stations starting from 7:00am until 4:00pm.




Header advertisement
To Top