Dennis Onyango’s Sundowns Clinch the 2015/16 PSL Title


Dennis Onyango maintained a clean sheet as his side Mamelodi Sundowns thrashed University of Pretoria to clinch the 2015/16 Absa Premiership title in style.

Sundowns came into their 28th game of the season with 62 points, order five ahead of second placed Bidvest Wits and needed only two more points to reach an assailable maximum with two games to spare.

Liberian Anthony Laffor was the hero of the day with a hattrick in Tshwane Derby  at the Tuks stadium.

Header advertisement

The Liberian popped the champagne after just three minutes completing Mzikayise Mashaba’s pass from a quick free-kick. He completed his hattrick in the 20th and 59th.

Sundowns have won 20 games, drawn five and losing only three. They have scored 53 goals and conceded only twenty, both best records in the division.

The trophy will be handed over to the Brazilians at the Lucas Moripe stadium on Saturday, 21 May following their clash against Platinum Stars.

University of Pretoria: AmaTuks: Coetsee; Sibande, Mthethwa, Mwedihanga, Jaure K.Zwane (Mnyamane 68′), Ketjijere, Nyathi (Nyondo 54′), Ntombayithethi – Kebede (Nkoana 56′), Bacela

Mamelodi Sundowns: Onyango, Langerman, Arendse, Nthethe, Mphahlele Mabunda, Kekana (Modise 80′) Mashaba (S.Zwane 66′), Dolly Billiat Laffor (Ngele 83′)


Header advertisement
To Top